California · Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Best colleges for Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of California-Berkeley, San Francisco State University and University of Southern California are the top bachelor's Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies programs in California by graduate earnings. University of California-Berkeley leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,553, College Scorecard. University of California-Riverside, San Francisco State University and Chapman University award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in California: 80, 55 and 47 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 49 California colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies and award 575 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…

Institutions
49
offering CIP 23.13
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
575
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,939
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$31,817
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Editors
$111,810
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public · Bachelor's degree
$44,5533393%—$14,037
2San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,4315550%—$18,500
3University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$26,6362992%$26,873$19,500
4Chapman University
Orange Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$23,9394782%$42,965—
5University of California-Riverside
Riverside Public · Bachelor's degree
$21,7658076%—$20,000
6California State University - San Bernardino
San Bernardino Public · Bachelor's degree
$20,7262155%—$16,210
7Pepperdine University
Malibu Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,2281283%$41,986$24,027
8California State University - Long Beach
Long Beach Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$21,854269%—$15,394

Colleges awarding the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of California-Riverside
Riverside Public
80$21,765
2San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public
55$32,431
3Chapman University
Orange Private not-for-profit
47$23,939
4Antioch University - Los Angeles
Culver City Private not-for-profit
45Not reported
5University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public
33$44,553
6University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
29$26,636
7San Diego State University
San Diego Public
24Not reported
8California State University - San Bernardino
San Bernardino Public
21$20,726
9Saint Mary's College of California
Moraga Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
10San Jose State University
San Jose Public
16Not reported
Show the other 39 California colleges offering Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos AngelesPrivate not-for-profit15
Dominican University of CaliforniaSan RafaelPrivate not-for-profit14
Point Loma Nazarene UniversitySan DiegoPrivate not-for-profit14
Pepperdine UniversityMalibuPrivate not-for-profit12
University of California-IrvineIrvinePublic11
California Institute of the ArtsValenciaPrivate not-for-profit11
Grossmont CollegeEl CajonPublic10
Long Beach City CollegeLong BeachPublic10
University of RedlandsRedlandsPrivate not-for-profit10
California College of the ArtsSan FranciscoPrivate not-for-profit9
California State University - FresnoFresnoPublic9
University of California-DavisDavisPublic9
Chabot CollegeHaywardPublic6
Orange Coast CollegeCosta MesaPublic6
City College of San FranciscoSan FranciscoPublic5
California State University - StanislausTurlockPublic4
La Sierra UniversityRiversidePrivate not-for-profit4
University of San FranciscoSan FranciscoPrivate not-for-profit4
College of San MateoSan MateoPublic4
California Baptist UniversityRiversidePrivate not-for-profit3
Cerritos CollegeNorwalkPublic3
Los Medanos CollegePittsburgPublic3
Rio Hondo CollegeWhittierPublic3
Las Positas CollegeLivermorePublic3
California State University - Long BeachLong BeachPublic2
University of La VerneLa VernePrivate not-for-profit2
Pitzer CollegeClaremontPrivate not-for-profit2
Saddleback CollegeMission ViejoPublic2
Santa Barbara City CollegeSanta BarbaraPublic2
Scripps CollegeClaremontPrivate not-for-profit2
Berkeley City CollegeBerkeleyPublic2
American River CollegeSacramentoPublic1
California State University - Dominguez HillsCarsonPublic1
Los Angeles City CollegeLos AngelesPublic1
Monterey Peninsula CollegeMontereyPublic1
National UniversitySan DiegoPrivate not-for-profit1
College of the SiskiyousWeedPublic1
Ventura CollegeVenturaPublic1
University of California-MercedMercedPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Editors (SOC 27-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~9,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$75,260
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingActive Learning

What Editors earn in California

Jobs in California
14,830
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$111,810
median $98,030
Best-paying metro
$120,530
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA

Related careers

Editors
$111,810 avg · 14,830 jobs
Writers and Authors
$106,560 avg · 8,390 jobs
English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$134,950 avg · 5,460 jobs
Technical Writers
$117,060 avg · 5,280 jobs
Proofreaders and Copy Markers
$59,630 avg · 300 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees?+

University of California-Riverside (80 graduates a year), San Francisco State University (55 graduates a year) and Chapman University (47 graduates a year) award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 49 California colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.

What is the best college for Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in California?+

By graduate earnings, University of California-Berkeley leads among bachelor's Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies programs in California, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,553, College Scorecard. San Francisco State University and University of Southern California follow. By degrees awarded, University of California-Riverside is the largest, with 80 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of California-Berkeley tops the list at $44,553. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Editors earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Editors in California is $111,810 (median $98,030), across about 14,830 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program?+

The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Editors?+

The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 9,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in other statesUtahArizonaMarylandSouth CarolinaRhode IslandColoradoMinnesotaTexas

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card