Best colleges for Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in Arizona
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Arizona, Grand Canyon University and Northern Arizona University award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in Arizona: 52, 51 and 47 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Arizona colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies and award 276 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Grand Canyon University Phoenix Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $31,006 | 51 | 43% | $21,535 | $26,186 |
| 2 | University of Arizona Tucson Public · Bachelor's degree | $26,715 | 52 | 68% | — | $24,822 |
| 3 | Arizona State University Digital Immersion Scottsdale Public · Bachelor's degree Online | $44,411 | 47 | 0% | — | $30,114 |
Colleges awarding the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in Arizona
Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Arizona Tucson Public | 52 | $26,715 |
| 2 | Grand Canyon University Phoenix Private not-for-profit | 51 | $31,006 |
| 3 | Northern Arizona University Flagstaff Public | 47 | Not reported |
| 4 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion Tempe Public | 29 | $44,411 |
| 5 | Chandler-Gilbert Community College Chandler Public | 6 | Not reported |
| 6 | Estrella Mountain Community College Avondale Public | 2 | Not reported |
| 7 | Eastern Arizona College Thatcher Public | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 8 Arizona colleges offering Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona State University Digital Immersion (Online) | Scottsdale | Public | 47 |
| Mesa Community College | Mesa | Public | 11 |
| Glendale Community College | Glendale | Public | 10 |
| Rio Salado College | Tempe | Public | 5 |
| Scottsdale Community College | Scottsdale | Public | 5 |
| Phoenix College | Phoenix | Public | 4 |
| South Mountain Community College | Phoenix | Public | 4 |
| Paradise Valley Community College | Phoenix | Public | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Editors (SOC 27-3041).
Top skills
What Editors earn in Arizona
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies programs in Arizona.
Which Arizona colleges award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees?+
University of Arizona (52 graduates a year), Grand Canyon University (51 graduates a year) and Northern Arizona University (47 graduates a year) award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in Arizona, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Arizona colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.
Which Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program in Arizona has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Grand Canyon University tops the list at $31,006. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Editors earn in Arizona?+
The average annual wage for Editors in Arizona is $73,920 (median $63,090), across about 820 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program?+
The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Editors?+
The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 9,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card