California · Public Health

Best colleges for Public Health in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

National University, University of California-Berkeley and Santa Clara University are the top bachelor's Public Health programs in California by graduate earnings. National University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,057, College Scorecard. University of California-San Diego, University of California-Irvine and University of Southern California award the most Public Health degrees in California: 407, 402 and 400 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 63 California colleges offer Public Health and award 5,810 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Public Health program focuses on promoting health and preventing disease within communities. It prepares students to address health-related issues through various specializations, including Environmental Health, Maternal and Child…

Institutions
63
offering CIP 51.22
States & territories
55
with a program page
Degrees / yr
5,810
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$40,750
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
14
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,919
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
59%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical and Health Services Managers
$159,170
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1National University
San Diego Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$52,05712443%$31,817$37,469
2University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public · Bachelor's degree
$48,35132893%—$11,729
3Santa Clara University
Santa Clara Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$47,2746088%$44,094$24,500
4California State University - Chico
Chico Public · Bachelor's degree
$45,3399563%—$20,750
5San Diego State University
San Diego Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,09229776%—$13,812
6California State University - Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,75016853%—$12,500
7University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,14440786%—$15,280
8California State University - Northridge
Northridge Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,01134257%—$14,000
9University of California-Merced
Merced Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,55511169%—$15,502
10University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,30040092%$26,873$15,250

Colleges awarding the most Public Health degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public
407$39,144
2University of California-Irvine
Irvine Public
402$35,463
3University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
400$36,300
4California State University - Northridge
Northridge Public
342$39,011
5California State University - Fullerton
Fullerton Public
333$34,909
6University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public
328$48,351
7San Diego State University
San Diego Public
297$41,092
8University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public
246Not reported
9San Jose State University
San Jose Public
199Not reported
10California State University - Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public
168$40,750
Show the other 53 California colleges offering Public Health
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of the People (Online)PasadenaPrivate not-for-profit796
City College of San FranciscoSan FranciscoPublic151
San Francisco State UniversitySan FranciscoPublic149
California State University - San BernardinoSan BernardinoPublic126
National UniversitySan DiegoPrivate not-for-profit124
California State University - SacramentoSacramentoPublic121
University of California-MercedMercedPublic111
California State University - ChicoChicoPublic95
California State University - East BayHaywardPublic79
UEI College - GardenaGardenaPrivate for-profit75
California State University - StanislausTurlockPublic68
Loma Linda UniversityLoma LindaPrivate not-for-profit62
Santa Clara UniversitySanta ClaraPrivate not-for-profit60
Touro University California (Graduate only)VallejoPrivate not-for-profit59
California Polytechnic State University - San Luis ObispoSan Luis ObispoPublic55
California State University - San MarcosSan MarcosPublic53
University of California-San Francisco (Graduate only)San FranciscoPublic45
University of San FranciscoSan FranciscoPrivate not-for-profit40
California State University - Long BeachLong BeachPublic35
Stanford UniversityStanfordPrivate not-for-profit35
Claremont Graduate University (Graduate only)ClaremontPrivate not-for-profit29
University of California-DavisDavisPublic28
California State University - BakersfieldBakersfieldPublic25
West Coast University - Anaheim-Orange CountyAnaheimPrivate for-profit25
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and ScienceLos AngelesPrivate not-for-profit23
California State University - FresnoFresnoPublic20
Keck Graduate Institute (Graduate only)ClaremontPrivate not-for-profit20
Foothill CollegeLos Altos HillsPublic19
Cabrillo CollegeAptosPublic18
Biola UniversityLa MiradaPrivate not-for-profit16
Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusaPrivate not-for-profit14
Los Angeles Pacific University (Online)San DimasPrivate not-for-profit12
Diablo Valley CollegePleasant HillPublic11
La Sierra UniversityRiversidePrivate not-for-profit10
Concordia University - IrvineIrvinePrivate not-for-profit9
University of the PacificStocktonPrivate not-for-profit9
Fremont UniversityCerritosPrivate for-profit9
Southern California University of Health Sciences (Online)WhittierPrivate not-for-profit6
Pacific College of Health and ScienceSan DiegoPrivate for-profit6
Chabot CollegeHaywardPublic5
North-West College - West CovinaWest CovinaPrivate for-profit5
Orange Coast CollegeCosta MesaPublic5
Sacramento City CollegeSacramentoPublic5
Cerritos CollegeNorwalkPublic4
Dominican University of CaliforniaSan RafaelPrivate not-for-profit4
Glendale Career CollegeGlendalePrivate for-profit3
Santa Rosa Junior CollegeSanta RosaPublic2
University of Massachusetts Global (Online)Aliso ViejoPublic2
Bakersfield CollegeBakersfieldPublic1
Northeastern University OaklandOaklandPrivate not-for-profit1
Pacific Union CollegeAngwinPrivate not-for-profit1
Pitzer CollegeClaremontPrivate not-for-profit1
The Chicago School at Los Angeles (Online)Los AngelesPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+23.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~62,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$117,960
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningMonitoring

What Medical and Health Services Managers earn in California

Jobs in California
75,090
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$159,170
median $141,480
Best-paying metro
$183,620
Napa, CA

Related careers

Medical and Health Services Managers
$159,170 avg · 75,090 jobs
Compliance Officers
$102,490 avg · 49,880 jobs
Occupational Health and Safety Specialists
$106,470 avg · 16,230 jobs
Health Education Specialists
$74,720 avg · 12,520 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Public Health programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Public Health degrees?+

University of California-San Diego (407 graduates a year), University of California-Irvine (402 graduates a year) and University of Southern California (400 graduates a year) award the most Public Health degrees in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 63 California colleges offer Public Health.

What is the best college for Public Health in California?+

By graduate earnings, National University leads among bachelor's Public Health programs in California, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,057, College Scorecard. University of California-Berkeley and Santa Clara University follow. By degrees awarded, University of California-San Diego is the largest, with 407 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Public Health program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, National University tops the list at $52,057. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical and Health Services Managers earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Medical and Health Services Managers in California is $159,170 (median $141,480), across about 75,090 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Public Health program?+

The Public Health program focuses on promoting health and preventing disease within communities. It prepares students to address health-related issues through various specializations, including Environmental Health, Maternal and Child…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical and Health Services Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +23.2% growth with around 62,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card