Texas · Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Best colleges for Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Texas Woman's University, University of North Texas and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley are the top bachelor's Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Texas Woman's University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $38,339, College Scorecard. Texas Woman's University, Baylor University and The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees in Texas: 249, 233 and 176 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Texas colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions and award 1,678 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
24
offering CIP 51.23
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,678
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$28,872
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,342
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
54%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Physical Therapists
$109,270
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Texas Woman's University
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,33924949%——
2University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,0079461%—$25,370
3The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,8728851%—$16,014
4The University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,19514850%——
5University of the Incarnate Word
San Antonio Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$22,9195351%$21,745$24,103
6Stephen F Austin State University
Nacogdoches Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,7671153%—$21,500

Colleges awarding the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Texas Woman's University
Denton Public
249$38,339
2Baylor University
Waco Private not-for-profit
233Not reported
3The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Galveston Public
176Not reported
4Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Lubbock Public
155Not reported
5The University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso Public
148$28,195
6The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio Public
98Not reported
7University of North Texas
Denton Public
94$36,007
8The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
88$28,872
9University of the Incarnate Word
San Antonio Private not-for-profit
53$22,919
10University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Belton Private not-for-profit
50Not reported
Show the other 14 Texas colleges offering Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Texas State UniversitySan MarcosPublic50
Hardin-Simmons UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit46
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (Graduate only)DallasPublic44
University of North Texas Health Science CenterFort WorthPublic38
Abilene Christian UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit35
Angelo State UniversitySan AngeloPublic27
Baylor College of Medicine (Graduate only)HoustonPrivate not-for-profit25
The University of Texas at TylerTylerPublic22
East Texas Baptist UniversityMarshallPrivate not-for-profit16
Sam Houston State UniversityHuntsvillePublic15
Stephen F Austin State UniversityNacogdochesPublic11
Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit3
Amarillo CollegeAmarilloPublic1
Southern Methodist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Physical Therapists (SOC 29-1123).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+10.9%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,020
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Physical Therapists earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
21,870
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$109,270
median $105,810
Best-paying metro
$111,940
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX

Related careers

Physical Therapists
$109,270 avg · 21,870 jobs
Occupational Therapists
$107,630 avg · 13,400 jobs
Rehabilitation Counselors
$51,980 avg · 1,840 jobs
Therapists, All Other
$77,900 avg · 1,320 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees?+

Texas Woman's University (249 graduates a year), Baylor University (233 graduates a year) and The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (176 graduates a year) award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Texas colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.

What is the best college for Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in Texas?+

By graduate earnings, Texas Woman's University leads among bachelor's Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $38,339, College Scorecard. University of North Texas and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley follow. By degrees awarded, Texas Woman's University is the largest, with 249 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Texas Woman's University tops the list at $38,339. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Physical Therapists earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Physical Therapists in Texas is $109,270 (median $105,810), across about 21,870 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program?+

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Physical Therapists?+

The national job outlook is about +10.9% growth with around 13,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in other statesWashingtonUtahMichiganNew HampshireIllinoisVirginiaMarylandPennsylvania

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card