Virginia · Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Best colleges for Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Shenandoah University, Virginia Commonwealth University and Radford University award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees and certificates in Virginia: 174, 147 and 71 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Virginia colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions and award 693 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 51.23
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
693
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,700
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,446
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Physical Therapists
$104,070
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Longwood University
Farmville Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,7001061%—$26,808

Colleges awarding the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Shenandoah University
Winchester Private not-for-profit
174Not reported
2Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public
147Not reported
3Radford University
Radford Public
71Not reported
4Emory & Henry University
Emory Private not-for-profit
60Not reported
5Marymount University
Arlington Private not-for-profit
53Not reported
6Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public
53Not reported
7Mary Baldwin University
Staunton Private not-for-profit
42Not reported
8University of Lynchburg
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit
36Not reported
9James Madison University
Harrisonburg Public
24Not reported
10Hampton University
Hampton Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
Show the other 2 Virginia colleges offering Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Longwood UniversityFarmvillePublic10
Virginia Wesleyan UniversityVirginia BeachPrivate not-for-profit10

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Physical Therapists (SOC 29-1123).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+10.9%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,020
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Physical Therapists earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
7,630
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$104,070
median $101,450
Best-paying metro
$108,930
Winchester, VA-WV

Related careers

Physical Therapists
$104,070 avg · 7,630 jobs
Occupational Therapists
$102,130 avg · 4,150 jobs
Rehabilitation Counselors
$56,260 avg · 2,890 jobs
Recreational Therapists
$66,490 avg · 570 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees?+

Shenandoah University (174 graduates a year), Virginia Commonwealth University (147 graduates a year) and Radford University (71 graduates a year) award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Virginia colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.

How much do Physical Therapists earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Physical Therapists in Virginia is $104,070 (median $101,450), across about 7,630 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program?+

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Physical Therapists?+

The national job outlook is about +10.9% growth with around 13,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in other statesWashingtonUtahMichiganNew HampshireIllinoisMarylandPennsylvaniaNew York

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card