Virginia · Dental Support Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Northern Virginia Community College, Old Dominion University and Virginia Western Community College are the top Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. Northern Virginia Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,727, College Scorecard. Old Dominion University, Northern Virginia Community College and Virginia Western Community College award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Virginia: 83, 43 and 38 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Virginia colleges offer Dental Support Services and Allied Professions and award 344 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program prepares students for various roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on dental support. This program is ideal for individuals interested in pursuing a career in allied health…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 51.06
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
344
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$28,544
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
10
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,666
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Dental Assistants
$47,490
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 9 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale Public · Associate degree
$70,7274333%—$20,894
2Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public · Bachelor's degree
$63,1458346%—$21,378
3Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke Public · Associate degree
$61,0303840%—$11,500
4Wytheville Community College
Wytheville Public · Associate degree
$55,9313247%——
5ECPI University
Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Associate degree
$28,5443842%$21,909$16,000
6Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$72,8081963%—$25,924
7Danville Community College
Danville Public · Certificate Small program
$28,4051039%——
8Centura College - Norfolk
Norfolk Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$24,5691173%$28,550$9,500
9Fortis College - Norfolk
Norfolk Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$22,9281130%$30,881$11,358

Colleges awarding the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public
83$63,145
2Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale Public
43$70,727
3Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke Public
38$61,030
4ECPI University
Virginia Beach Private for-profit
38$28,544
5Wytheville Community College
Wytheville Public
32$55,931
6Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public
19$72,808
7J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
Richmond Public
18Not reported
8Germanna Community College
Locust Grove Public
15Not reported
9Fortis College - Norfolk
Norfolk Private for-profit
11$22,928
10Centura College - Norfolk
Norfolk Private for-profit
11$24,569
Show the other 4 Virginia colleges offering Dental Support Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Danville Community CollegeDanvillePublic10
Mountain Empire Community CollegeBig Stone GapPublic10
Fortis College - RichmondRichmondPrivate for-profit8
Columbia CollegeViennaPrivate for-profit8

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Dental Assistants (SOC 31-9091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~52,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$47,300
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionMonitoringActive LearningCritical Thinking

What Dental Assistants earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
10,760
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$47,490
median $46,670
Best-paying metro
$47,740
Richmond, VA

Related careers

Dental Assistants
$47,490 avg · 10,760 jobs
Dental Hygienists
$105,120 avg · 3,770 jobs
Dental Laboratory Technicians
$59,560 avg · 1,050 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

Old Dominion University (83 graduates a year), Northern Virginia Community College (43 graduates a year) and Virginia Western Community College (38 graduates a year) award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Virginia colleges offer Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.

What is the best college for Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, Northern Virginia Community College leads among Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,727, College Scorecard. Old Dominion University and Virginia Western Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Old Dominion University is the largest, with 83 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Northern Virginia Community College tops the list at $70,727. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Dental Assistants earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Dental Assistants in Virginia is $47,490 (median $46,670), across about 10,760 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program prepares students for various roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on dental support. This program is ideal for individuals interested in pursuing a career in allied health…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Dental Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 52,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in other statesHawaiiNew HampshireOklahomaWashingtonWyomingIdahoMassachusettsDelaware

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card