Best colleges for Allied Health Diagnostic in Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
Northern Virginia Community College, Virginia Commonwealth University and Sentara College of Health Sciences are the top Allied Health Diagnostic programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. Northern Virginia Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,050, College Scorecard. University of Lynchburg, J Sargeant Reynolds Community College and Piedmont Virginia Community College award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees and certificates in Virginia: 325, 246 and 226 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 44 Virginia colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic and award 3,101 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…
Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northern Virginia Community College Annandale Public · Associate degree | $74,050 | 70 | 33% | — | $13,437 |
| 2 | Virginia Commonwealth University Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree | $66,750 | 42 | 63% | — | $26,992 |
| 3 | Sentara College of Health Sciences Chesapeake Private not-for-profit · Associate degree | $63,585 | 25 | — | — | $21,000 |
| 4 | Tidewater Community College Norfolk Public · Associate degree | $62,524 | 195 | 32% | — | $11,687 |
| 5 | Virginia Highlands Community College Abingdon Public · Certificate | $62,422 | 36 | 40% | — | $9,500 |
| 6 | J Sargeant Reynolds Community College Richmond Public · Associate degree | $61,104 | 246 | 32% | — | $20,435 |
| 7 | Radford University Radford Public · Bachelor's degree | $58,997 | 85 | 49% | — | $25,250 |
| 8 | Mountain Empire Community College Big Stone Gap Public · Associate degree | $58,346 | 118 | 48% | — | — |
| 9 | Southside College of Health Sciences Colonial Heights Private not-for-profit · Associate degree | $57,367 | 20 | — | — | $18,862 |
| 10 | ECPI University Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Associate degree | $55,250 | 137 | 42% | $21,909 | $26,505 |
Colleges awarding the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees in Virginia
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Lynchburg Lynchburg Private not-for-profit | 325 | Not reported |
| 2 | J Sargeant Reynolds Community College Richmond Public | 246 | $61,104 |
| 3 | Piedmont Virginia Community College Charlottesville Public | 226 | $42,570 |
| 4 | Germanna Community College Locust Grove Public | 200 | $47,882 |
| 5 | Tidewater Community College Norfolk Public | 195 | $62,524 |
| 6 | Shenandoah University Winchester Private not-for-profit | 174 | Not reported |
| 7 | Central Virginia Community College Lynchburg Public | 154 | $36,254 |
| 8 | ECPI University Virginia Beach Private for-profit | 137 | $55,250 |
| 9 | Laurel Ridge Community College Middletown Public | 123 | $36,165 |
| 10 | Mountain Empire Community College Big Stone Gap Public | 118 | $58,346 |
ShowHide the other 34 Virginia colleges offering Allied Health Diagnostic
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (SOC 29-2032).
Top skills
What Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Allied Health Diagnostic programs in Virginia.
Which Virginia colleges award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees?+
University of Lynchburg (325 graduates a year), J Sargeant Reynolds Community College (246 graduates a year) and Piedmont Virginia Community College (226 graduates a year) award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 44 Virginia colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic.
What is the best college for Allied Health Diagnostic in Virginia?+
By graduate earnings, Northern Virginia Community College leads among Allied Health Diagnostic programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,050, College Scorecard. Virginia Commonwealth University and Sentara College of Health Sciences follow. By degrees awarded, University of Lynchburg is the largest, with 325 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Allied Health Diagnostic program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Northern Virginia Community College tops the list at $74,050. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in Virginia?+
The average annual wage for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers in Virginia is $95,220 (median $95,660), across about 2,160 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Allied Health Diagnostic program?+
The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers?+
The national job outlook is about +13.0% growth with around 5,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card