Texas · Human Development

Best colleges for Human Development in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Texas Tech University, University of Houston and Texas State University are the top bachelor's Human Development programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Texas Tech University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,096, College Scorecard. Texas Woman's University, Texas Tech University and University of Houston award the most Human Development degrees in Texas: 183, 150 and 97 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 60 Texas colleges offer Human Development and award 2,214 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

Institutions
60
offering CIP 19.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,214
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,619
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
10
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,247
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social and Human Service Assistants
$46,210
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,09615069%—$23,250
2University of Houston
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,9649765%—$22,450
3Texas State University
San Marcos Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,0478855%—$22,295
4University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,4993961%—$19,500
5Baylor University
Waco Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$32,1375880%$35,682$21,350
6Texas Woman's University
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,61918349%—$24,170
7Abilene Christian University
Abilene Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$30,2782659%$26,342$26,000
8The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$26,8978851%—$20,871

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1South Texas College
McAllen Public · Associate degree
$19,97110527%——

Colleges awarding the most Human Development degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Texas Woman's University
Denton Public
183$30,619
2Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
150$39,096
3University of Houston
Houston Public
97$37,964
4San Jacinto Community College
Pasadena Public
97Not reported
5The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
88$26,897
6Texas State University
San Marcos Public
88$35,047
7Tarleton State University
Stephenville Public
86Not reported
8Amarillo College
Amarillo Public
70Not reported
9Tarrant County College District
Fort Worth Public
61Not reported
10Texarkana College
Texarkana Public
60Not reported
Show the other 50 Texas colleges offering Human Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Tyler Junior CollegeTylerPublic117
South Texas CollegeMcAllenPublic105
Baylor UniversityWacoPrivate not-for-profit58
Dallas CollegeDallasPublic56
San Antonio CollegeSan AntonioPublic54
Angelina CollegeLufkinPublic53
El Paso Community CollegeEl PasoPublic48
Houston City CollegeHoustonPublic46
Austin Community College DistrictAustinPublic40
University of North TexasDentonPublic39
Cisco CollegeCiscoPublic38
McLennan Community CollegeWacoPublic37
Blinn College DistrictBrenhamPublic31
Central Texas CollegeKilleenPublic31
Lamar Institute of TechnologyBeaumontPublic28
Laredo CollegeLaredoPublic27
The University of Texas Permian BasinOdessaPublic27
Abilene Christian UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit26
Odessa CollegeOdessaPublic25
Del Mar CollegeCorpus ChristiPublic24
South Plains CollegeLevellandPublic24
Texas A&M University - San AntonioSan AntonioPublic23
Abilene Christian University - Undergraduate Online (Online)AddisonPrivate not-for-profit23
Lamar UniversityBeaumontPublic22
Southwest Texas CollegeUvaldePublic19
Coastal Bend CollegeBeevillePublic18
St Philip's CollegeSan AntonioPublic18
Midland CollegeMidlandPublic16
Temple CollegeTemplePublic16
Texas Southmost CollegeBrownsvillePublic14
Western Texas CollegeSnyderPublic14
Amberton University (Online)GarlandPrivate not-for-profit12
Hill CollegeHillsboroPublic12
Lee CollegeBaytownPublic12
Collin County Community College DistrictMcKinneyPublic11
University of North Texas at DallasDallasPublic11
Navarro CollegeCorsicanaPublic9
Lubbock Christian UniversityLubbockPrivate not-for-profit8
North Central Texas CollegeGainesvillePublic7
Nelson UniversityWaxahachiePrivate not-for-profit7
Wharton County Junior CollegeWhartonPublic6
Grayson CollegeDenisonPublic4
University of Houston-Clear LakeHoustonPublic4
Weatherford CollegeWeatherfordPublic4
Houston Christian UniversityHoustonPrivate not-for-profit3
Brazosport CollegeLake JacksonPublic2
Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit2
Alvin Community CollegeAlvinPublic1
Trinity Valley Community CollegeAthensPublic1
Sul Ross State UniversityAlpinePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~50,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$45,120
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionMonitoringWritingCritical Thinking

What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
21,620
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$46,210
median $45,860
Best-paying metro
$49,870
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX

Related careers

Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$35,970 avg · 41,200 jobs
Childcare Workers
$29,050 avg · 34,160 jobs
Social and Human Service Assistants
$46,210 avg · 21,620 jobs
Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$50,640 avg · 6,080 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$107,920 avg · 2,260 jobs
Farm and Home Management Educators
$36,190 avg · 470 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Development programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Human Development degrees?+

Texas Woman's University (183 graduates a year), Texas Tech University (150 graduates a year) and University of Houston (97 graduates a year) award the most Human Development degrees in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 60 Texas colleges offer Human Development.

What is the best college for Human Development in Texas?+

By graduate earnings, Texas Tech University leads among bachelor's Human Development programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,096, College Scorecard. University of Houston and Texas State University follow. By degrees awarded, Texas Woman's University is the largest, with 183 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Human Development program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Texas Tech University tops the list at $39,096. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Texas is $46,210 (median $45,860), across about 21,620 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Development program?+

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card