Best colleges for Human Development in Minnesota
Ranked by graduate earnings
Concordia University - Saint Paul, Saint Paul College and South Central College award the most Human Development degrees and certificates in Minnesota: 34, 28 and 23 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Minnesota colleges offer Human Development and award 337 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…
Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Concordia University - Saint Paul Saint Paul Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $40,593 | 34 | 46% | $17,328 | $30,583 |
| 2 | Saint Paul College Saint Paul Public · Associate degree | $32,055 | 28 | 40% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Human Development degrees in Minnesota
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Concordia University - Saint Paul Saint Paul Private not-for-profit | 34 | $40,593 |
| 2 | Saint Paul College Saint Paul Public | 28 | $32,055 |
| 3 | South Central College North Mankato Public | 23 | Not reported |
| 4 | Pine Technical & Community College Pine City Public | 16 | Not reported |
| 5 | Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Winona Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 6 | Dakota County Technical College Rosemount Public | 14 | Not reported |
| 7 | Hennepin Technical College Brooklyn Park Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 8 | Anoka Technical College Anoka Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 9 | Minnesota State University - Mankato Mankato Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 10 | Central Lakes College - Brainerd Brainerd Public | 7 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 13 Minnesota colleges offering Human Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis Community and Technical College | Minneapolis | Public | 115 |
| Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College | Cloquet | Public | 13 |
| Minnesota State College Southeast | Winona | Public | 7 |
| Capella University (Online) | Minneapolis | Private for-profit | 7 |
| Saint Cloud State University | Saint Cloud | Public | 6 |
| Northwest Technical College | Bemidji | Public | 4 |
| Minnesota State Community and Technical College | Fergus Falls | Public | 4 |
| Rochester Community and Technical College | Rochester | Public | 4 |
| St Cloud Technical and Community College | Saint Cloud | Public | 3 |
| St Catherine University | Saint Paul | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Minnesota West Community and Technical College | Granite Falls | Public | 2 |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth | Duluth | Public | 2 |
| Normandale Community College | Bloomington | Public | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).
Top skills
What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Minnesota
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Human Development programs in Minnesota.
Which Minnesota colleges award the most Human Development degrees?+
Concordia University - Saint Paul (34 graduates a year), Saint Paul College (28 graduates a year) and South Central College (23 graduates a year) award the most Human Development degrees and certificates in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Minnesota colleges offer Human Development.
Which Human Development program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Concordia University - Saint Paul tops the list at $40,593. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Minnesota?+
The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Minnesota is $52,370 (median $49,940), across about 11,110 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Human Development program?+
The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card