Virginia · Culinary Arts and Related Services

Best colleges for Culinary Arts and Related Services in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

ECPI University, J Sargeant Reynolds Community College and Rappahannock Community College award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Virginia: 157, 54 and 41 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Virginia colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services and award 375 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 12.05
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
375
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$21,368
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,909
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Cooks, Restaurant
$38,180
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1ECPI University
Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Associate degree
$23,32015742%$21,909$18,043
2Tidewater Community College
Norfolk Public · Certificate
$21,3683632%—$19,066

Colleges awarding the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1ECPI University
Virginia Beach Private for-profit
157$23,320
2J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
Richmond Public
54Not reported
3Rappahannock Community College
Glenns Public
41Not reported
4Tidewater Community College
Norfolk Public
36$21,368
5Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke Public
36Not reported
6Central Virginia Community College
Lynchburg Public
19Not reported
7Columbia College
Vienna Private for-profit
13Not reported
8Piedmont Virginia Community College
Charlottesville Public
9Not reported
9Southside Virginia Community College
Alberta Public
7Not reported
10Mountain Gateway Community College
Clifton Forge Public
1Not reported
Show the other 2 Virginia colleges offering Culinary Arts and Related Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Northern Virginia Community CollegeAnnandalePublic1
Southwest Virginia Community CollegeCedar BluffPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Cooks, Restaurant (SOC 35-2014).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+14.9%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~250,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$36,830
typically No formal educational credential

Top skills

Critical ThinkingMonitoringSpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionActive Learning

What Cooks, Restaurant earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
40,310
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$38,180
median $36,750
Best-paying metro
$37,910
Charlottesville, VA

Related careers

Cooks, Restaurant
$38,180 avg · 40,310 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers
$46,810 avg · 30,640 jobs
Bartenders
$54,200 avg · 13,370 jobs
Cooks, Institution and Cafeteria
$39,500 avg · 11,170 jobs
Bakers
$35,960 avg · 7,820 jobs
Food Service Managers
$76,060 avg · 3,820 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees?+

ECPI University (157 graduates a year), J Sargeant Reynolds Community College (54 graduates a year) and Rappahannock Community College (41 graduates a year) award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Virginia colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services.

Which Culinary Arts and Related Services program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, ECPI University tops the list at $23,320. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Cooks, Restaurant earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Cooks, Restaurant in Virginia is $38,180 (median $36,750), across about 40,310 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Culinary Arts and Related Services program?+

The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, monitoring, speaking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Cooks, Restaurant?+

The national job outlook is about +14.9% growth with around 250,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A No formal educational credential is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Culinary Arts and Related Services in other statesKansasNebraskaOhioNew HampshireWisconsinMinnesotaUtahWyoming

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card