Best colleges for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
The Esthetic Institute, The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics and Dermal Science International Aesthetics and Nail Academy are the top Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. The Esthetic Institute leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $29,301, College Scorecard. The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics, Centura College - Chesapeake and Avi Career Training award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in Virginia: 252, 177 and 158 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 22 Virginia colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services and award 1,687 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…
Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Esthetic Institute Vienna Private for-profit · Certificate | $29,301 | 119 | 88% | $21,591 | $11,208 |
| 2 | The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Certificate | $23,974 | 252 | 81% | $20,501 | $7,333 |
| 3 | Dermal Science International Aesthetics and Nail Academy Reston Private for-profit · Certificate | $22,763 | 43 | 93% | $10,807 | $8,517 |
| 4 | Culpeper Cosmetology Training Center Culpeper Public · Certificate | $21,937 | 26 | 88% | — | $13,666 |
| 5 | Paul Mitchell the School - Roanoke Roanoke Private for-profit · Certificate | $20,761 | 60 | 59% | $18,445 | $13,833 |
| 6 | Rudy & Kelly Academy, A Paul Mitchell Partner School Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Certificate | $20,028 | 96 | 73% | $19,704 | $16,184 |
| 7 | Eastern Virginia Career College Fredericksburg Private for-profit · Certificate | $19,612 | 44 | 66% | $39,005 | $7,917 |
| 8 | Empire Beauty School - Virginia Beach Virginia Beach Private for-profit · Certificate | $17,113 | 65 | 37% | $18,212 | $16,500 |
| 9 | Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy Lynchburg Private for-profit · Certificate | $15,812 | 108 | 50% | $21,972 | $10,757 |
| 10 | Empire Beauty School - Midlothian Midlothian Private for-profit · Certificate | $15,679 | 55 | 44% | $18,200 | $13,583 |
Colleges awarding the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees in Virginia
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics Virginia Beach Private for-profit | 252 | $23,974 |
| 2 | Centura College - Chesapeake Chesapeake Private for-profit | 177 | Not reported |
| 3 | Avi Career Training vienna Private for-profit | 158 | $15,607 |
| 4 | Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute Lafayette-Arlington Arlington Private for-profit | 142 | Not reported |
| 5 | The Esthetic Institute Vienna Private for-profit | 119 | $29,301 |
| 6 | Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy Lynchburg Private for-profit | 108 | $15,812 |
| 7 | Rudy & Kelly Academy, A Paul Mitchell Partner School Virginia Beach Private for-profit | 96 | $20,028 |
| 8 | Empire Beauty School - Virginia Beach Virginia Beach Private for-profit | 65 | $17,113 |
| 9 | Paul Mitchell the School - Roanoke Roanoke Private for-profit | 60 | $20,761 |
| 10 | Empire Beauty School - Midlothian Midlothian Private for-profit | 55 | $15,679 |
ShowHide the other 12 Virginia colleges offering Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lotus Professional College (Graduate only) | Richmond | Private for-profit | 147 |
| Empire Beauty School - Richmond | Richmond | Private for-profit | 53 |
| Empire Beauty School - Newport News | Newport News | Private for-profit | 45 |
| Eastern Virginia Career College | Fredericksburg | Private for-profit | 44 |
| Dermal Science International Aesthetics and Nail Academy | Reston | Private for-profit | 43 |
| Jazz Barber and Hairstyling Academy | Petersburg | Private for-profit | 27 |
| Culpeper Cosmetology Training Center | Culpeper | Public | 26 |
| Another Level Barbering and Cosmetology School | Petersburg | Private for-profit | 26 |
| Tomorrow's Image Barber And Beauty Academy of Virginia | Newport News | Private for-profit | 20 |
| Staunton School of Cosmetology | Staunton | Private for-profit | 11 |
| Virginia Barber School | Richmond | Private for-profit | 7 |
| Luckes Beauty Academy LLC | Newport News | Private for-profit | 6 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists (SOC 39-5012).
Top skills
What Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists earn in Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Virginia.
Which Virginia colleges award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees?+
The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics (252 graduates a year), Centura College - Chesapeake (177 graduates a year) and Avi Career Training (158 graduates a year) award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 22 Virginia colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.
What is the best college for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in Virginia?+
By graduate earnings, The Esthetic Institute leads among Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $29,301, College Scorecard. The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics and Dermal Science International Aesthetics and Nail Academy follow. By degrees awarded, The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is the largest, with 252 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The Esthetic Institute tops the list at $29,301. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
What is the focus of the Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program?+
The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists?+
The national job outlook is about +5.6% growth with around 75,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card