Texas · Mathematics

Best colleges for Mathematics in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Southern Methodist University, The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas at Dallas are the top bachelor's Mathematics programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Southern Methodist University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,516, College Scorecard. The University of Texas at Austin, West Texas A & M University and San Jacinto Community College award the most Mathematics degrees in Texas: 371, 144 and 113 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 77 Texas colleges offer Mathematics and award 1,778 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mathematics program encompasses a broad range of topics related to abstract concepts such as numbers, geometric shapes, and functions. It is designed for students interested in exploring logical reasoning and proof to understand and…

Institutions
77
offering CIP 27.01
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,778
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$52,774
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
21
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,483
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Southern Methodist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$74,5162484%$33,246$21,000
2The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public · Bachelor's degree
$60,01137189%—$20,500
3The University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson Public · Bachelor's degree
$58,2387076%—$19,745
4University of Houston
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree
$54,71010965%—$20,100
5University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$53,1334161%—$23,689
6University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree
$52,1602552%—$16,392
7The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public · Bachelor's degree
$51,4434954%—$17,161
8Rice University
Houston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$50,2864195%$13,264—
9Texas State University
San Marcos Public · Bachelor's degree
$49,7082555%—$26,000
10The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,1997451%—$12,225

Colleges awarding the most Mathematics degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
371$60,011
2West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
144Not reported
3San Jacinto Community College
Pasadena Public
113Not reported
4University of Houston
Houston Public
109$54,710
5Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
85$45,476
6Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
75$45,771
7The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
74$47,199
8The University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson Public
70$58,238
9The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
49$51,443
10University of North Texas
Denton Public
41$53,133
Show the other 67 Texas colleges offering Mathematics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Rice UniversityHoustonPrivate not-for-profit41
Austin Community College DistrictAustinPublic40
The University of Texas at El PasoEl PasoPublic39
Baylor UniversityWacoPrivate not-for-profit31
Texas A & M International UniversityLaredoPublic27
Texas Christian UniversityFort WorthPrivate not-for-profit27
University of Houston-Clear LakeHoustonPublic25
Texas State UniversitySan MarcosPublic25
The University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioPublic25
Southern Methodist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit24
South Texas CollegeMcAllenPublic23
Angelo State UniversitySan AngeloPublic22
Texas Woman's UniversityDentonPublic19
East Texas A&M UniversityCommercePublic18
Sam Houston State UniversityHuntsvillePublic17
El Paso Community CollegeEl PasoPublic14
Stephen F Austin State UniversityNacogdochesPublic13
Tarleton State UniversityStephenvillePublic13
Texas A&M University - Central TexasKilleenPublic13
St. Mary's UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit11
Texas Southern UniversityHoustonPublic10
Texas A&M University - San AntonioSan AntonioPublic10
University of Houston-DowntownHoustonPublic9
Texas A & M University - Corpus ChristiCorpus ChristiPublic8
The University of Texas Permian BasinOdessaPublic8
Trinity UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit8
Austin CollegeShermanPrivate not-for-profit7
Houston City CollegeHoustonPublic7
Texas Lutheran UniversitySeguinPrivate not-for-profit7
Central Texas CollegeKilleenPublic6
Lamar UniversityBeaumontPublic6
Southwestern UniversityGeorgetownPrivate not-for-profit6
The University of Texas at TylerTylerPublic6
Tyler Junior CollegeTylerPublic6
Abilene Christian UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit5
Alvin Community CollegeAlvinPublic5
Dallas Baptist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit5
Amarillo CollegeAmarilloPublic4
Houston Christian UniversityHoustonPrivate not-for-profit4
Lubbock Christian UniversityLubbockPrivate not-for-profit4
Saint Edward's UniversityAustinPrivate not-for-profit4
University of DallasIrvingPrivate not-for-profit3
LeTourneau UniversityLongviewPrivate not-for-profit3
Prairie View A & M UniversityPrairie ViewPublic3
Schreiner UniversityKerrvillePrivate not-for-profit3
University of North Texas at DallasDallasPublic3
Concordia University TexasAustinPrivate not-for-profit2
Del Mar CollegeCorpus ChristiPublic2
Texas A&M University - TexarkanaTexarkanaPublic2
Hardin-Simmons UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit2
Texas A&M University - VictoriaVictoriaPublic2
College of the MainlandTexas CityPublic2
University of Mary Hardin-BaylorBeltonPrivate not-for-profit2
Odessa CollegeOdessaPublic2
Sul Ross State UniversityAlpinePublic2
Blinn College DistrictBrenhamPublic1
East Texas Baptist UniversityMarshallPrivate not-for-profit1
Grayson CollegeDenisonPublic1
Hill CollegeHillsboroPublic1
Huston-Tillotson UniversityAustinPrivate not-for-profit1
McMurry UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit1
Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit1
University of St ThomasHoustonPrivate not-for-profit1
Southwestern Adventist UniversityKeenePrivate not-for-profit1
Temple CollegeTemplePublic1
Texas A&M University - KingsvilleKingsvillePublic1
Wayland Baptist UniversityPlainviewPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Data Scientists
$119,710 avg · 25,860 jobs
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$85,160 avg · 4,870 jobs
Statisticians
$107,390 avg · 1,390 jobs
Mathematical Science Occupations, All Other
$100,040

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mathematics programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Mathematics degrees?+

The University of Texas at Austin (371 graduates a year), West Texas A & M University (144 graduates a year) and San Jacinto Community College (113 graduates a year) award the most Mathematics degrees in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 77 Texas colleges offer Mathematics.

What is the best college for Mathematics in Texas?+

By graduate earnings, Southern Methodist University leads among bachelor's Mathematics programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $74,516, College Scorecard. The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas at Dallas follow. By degrees awarded, The University of Texas at Austin is the largest, with 371 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Mathematics program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Southern Methodist University tops the list at $74,516. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Mathematics program?+

The Mathematics program encompasses a broad range of topics related to abstract concepts such as numbers, geometric shapes, and functions. It is designed for students interested in exploring logical reasoning and proof to understand and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card