Best colleges for Fire Protection in Texas
Ranked by graduate earnings
Lamar Institute of Technology, McLennan Community College and Hill College are the top Fire Protection programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Lamar Institute of Technology leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $55,778, College Scorecard. Tarrant County College District, North Central Texas College and San Jacinto Community College award the most Fire Protection degrees and certificates in Texas: 185, 102 and 94 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 30 Texas colleges offer Fire Protection and award 1,766 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Fire Protection program focuses on equipping students with the knowledge and skills needed in the field of homeland security, law enforcement, and firefighting. This program is ideal for individuals interested in preventing and…
Top 5 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lamar Institute of Technology Beaumont Public · Certificate | $55,778 | 34 | 31% | — | — |
| 2 | McLennan Community College Waco Public · Certificate | $47,467 | 49 | 39% | — | $5,500 |
| 3 | Hill College Hillsboro Public · Certificate | $33,190 | 42 | 32% | — | — |
| 4 | Austin Community College District Austin Public · Certificate | $47,024 | 212 | 20% | — | $11,375 |
| 5 | Houston City College Houston Public · Certificate | $39,283 | 123 | 17% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Fire Protection degrees in Texas
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tarrant County College District Fort Worth Public | 185 | Not reported |
| 2 | North Central Texas College Gainesville Public | 102 | Not reported |
| 3 | San Jacinto Community College Pasadena Public | 94 | Not reported |
| 4 | College of the Mainland Texas City Public | 73 | Not reported |
| 5 | McLennan Community College Waco Public | 49 | $47,467 |
| 6 | Hill College Hillsboro Public | 42 | $33,190 |
| 7 | Lamar Institute of Technology Beaumont Public | 34 | $55,778 |
| 8 | Weatherford College Weatherford Public | 29 | Not reported |
| 9 | Cisco College Cisco Public | 22 | Not reported |
| 10 | Amarillo College Amarillo Public | 20 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 20 Texas colleges offering Fire Protection
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College District | Austin | Public | 212 |
| Lone Star College System | The Woodlands | Public | 200 |
| San Antonio College | San Antonio | Public | 140 |
| Houston City College | Houston | Public | 123 |
| Tyler Junior College | Tyler | Public | 115 |
| Del Mar College | Corpus Christi | Public | 71 |
| South Texas College | McAllen | Public | 54 |
| El Paso Community College | El Paso | Public | 34 |
| Navarro College | Corsicana | Public | 28 |
| Midland College | Midland | Public | 27 |
| South Plains College | Levelland | Public | 25 |
| Blinn College District | Brenham | Public | 24 |
| Collin County Community College District | McKinney | Public | 17 |
| Dallas College | Dallas | Public | 16 |
| Kilgore College | Kilgore | Public | 10 |
| Vernon College | Vernon | Public | 8 |
| Northeast Texas Community College | Mount Pleasant | Public | 5 |
| University of North Texas at Dallas | Dallas | Public | 4 |
| Trinity Valley Community College | Athens | Public | 2 |
| West Texas A & M University | Canyon | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Fire Inspectors and Investigators (SOC 33-2021).
Top skills
What Fire Inspectors and Investigators earn in Texas
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Fire Protection programs in Texas.
Which Texas colleges award the most Fire Protection degrees?+
Tarrant County College District (185 graduates a year), North Central Texas College (102 graduates a year) and San Jacinto Community College (94 graduates a year) award the most Fire Protection degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 30 Texas colleges offer Fire Protection.
What is the best college for Fire Protection in Texas?+
By graduate earnings, Lamar Institute of Technology leads among Fire Protection programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $55,778, College Scorecard. McLennan Community College and Hill College follow. By degrees awarded, Tarrant County College District is the largest, with 185 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Fire Protection program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Lamar Institute of Technology tops the list at $55,778. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Fire Inspectors and Investigators earn in Texas?+
The average annual wage for Fire Inspectors and Investigators in Texas is $80,850 (median $82,390), across about 1,030 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Fire Protection program?+
The Fire Protection program focuses on equipping students with the knowledge and skills needed in the field of homeland security, law enforcement, and firefighting. This program is ideal for individuals interested in preventing and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, critical thinking, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Fire Inspectors and Investigators?+
The national job outlook is about +3.8% growth with around 1,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card