Texas · Homeland Security

Best colleges for Homeland Security in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Laredo College, Sam Houston State University and University of North Texas award the most Homeland Security degrees and certificates in Texas: 155, 64 and 47 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 19 Texas colleges offer Homeland Security and award 582 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Homeland Security program focuses on preparing students for careers in protecting the nation from threats such as terrorism and other hazards. This program is ideal for individuals interested in law enforcement, emergency management,…

Institutions
19
offering CIP 43.03
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
582
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,969
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,604
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
40%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers
$52,950
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$44,9694761%—$17,293

Colleges awarding the most Homeland Security degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Laredo College
Laredo Public
155Not reported
2Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
64Not reported
3University of North Texas
Denton Public
47$44,969
4Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
36Not reported
5West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
31Not reported
6Angelo State University
San Angelo Public
19Not reported
7The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
15Not reported
8Sul Ross State University
Alpine Public
8Not reported
9The University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso Public
7Not reported
10Texas A&M University - Central Texas
Killeen Public
5Not reported
Show the other 9 Texas colleges offering Homeland Security
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Central Texas CollegeKilleenPublic103
Lone Star College SystemThe WoodlandsPublic54
El Paso Community CollegeEl PasoPublic11
Austin Community College DistrictAustinPublic6
Texas Southern UniversityHoustonPublic6
Tyler Junior CollegeTylerPublic6
The University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioPublic4
Schreiner UniversityKerrvillePrivate not-for-profit3
Texas A & M University - Corpus ChristiCorpus ChristiPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers (SOC 33-1091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.7%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~7,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,610
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
6,490
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$52,950
median $46,740
Best-paying metro
$56,910
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX

Related careers

First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers
$52,950 avg · 6,490 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Police and Detectives
$111,000 avg · 5,540 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Protective Service Workers, All Other
$76,640 avg · 1,450 jobs
Emergency Management Directors
$102,870 avg · 1,210 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Homeland Security programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Homeland Security degrees?+

Laredo College (155 graduates a year), Sam Houston State University (64 graduates a year) and University of North Texas (47 graduates a year) award the most Homeland Security degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 19 Texas colleges offer Homeland Security.

Which Homeland Security program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of North Texas tops the list at $44,969. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers in Texas is $52,950 (median $46,740), across about 6,490 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Homeland Security program?+

The Homeland Security program focuses on preparing students for careers in protecting the nation from threats such as terrorism and other hazards. This program is ideal for individuals interested in law enforcement, emergency management,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.7% growth with around 7,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card