Best colleges for Homeland Security in Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
George Mason University, Liberty University and Old Dominion University award the most Homeland Security degrees and certificates in Virginia: 147, 59 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Virginia colleges offer Homeland Security and award 232 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Homeland Security program focuses on preparing students for careers in protecting the nation from threats such as terrorism and other hazards. This program is ideal for individuals interested in law enforcement, emergency management,…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | George Mason University Fairfax Public · Bachelor's degree | $90,956 | 147 | 68% | — | $21,741 |
Colleges awarding the most Homeland Security degrees in Virginia
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | George Mason University Fairfax Public | 147 | $90,956 |
| 2 | Liberty University Lynchburg Private not-for-profit | 59 | Not reported |
| 3 | Old Dominion University Norfolk Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 4 | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Blacksburg Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Lynchburg Lynchburg Private not-for-profit | 4 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Virginia colleges offering Homeland Security
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Management and Technology (Online) | Arlington | Private for-profit | 6 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers (SOC 33-1091).
Top skills
What First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers earn in Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Homeland Security programs in Virginia.
Which Virginia colleges award the most Homeland Security degrees?+
George Mason University (147 graduates a year), Liberty University (59 graduates a year) and Old Dominion University (8 graduates a year) award the most Homeland Security degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Virginia colleges offer Homeland Security.
Which Homeland Security program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, George Mason University tops the list at $90,956. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers earn in Virginia?+
The average annual wage for First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers in Virginia is $67,420 (median $60,790), across about 2,120 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Homeland Security program?+
The Homeland Security program focuses on preparing students for careers in protecting the nation from threats such as terrorism and other hazards. This program is ideal for individuals interested in law enforcement, emergency management,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for First-Line Supervisors of Security Workers?+
The national job outlook is about +2.7% growth with around 7,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card