Illinois · Fire Protection

Best colleges for Fire Protection in Illinois

Ranked by graduate earnings

Southwestern Illinois College, Elgin Community College and Waubonsee Community College award the most Fire Protection degrees and certificates in Illinois: 94, 86 and 70 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 21 Illinois colleges offer Fire Protection and award 655 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Fire Protection program focuses on equipping students with the knowledge and skills needed in the field of homeland security, law enforcement, and firefighting. This program is ideal for individuals interested in preventing and…

Institutions
21
offering CIP 43.02
States offered
48
with a program page
Degrees / yr
655
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$58,160
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
38%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Fire Inspectors and Investigators
$73,330
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Carbondale Public · Bachelor's degree
$104,0175762%—$17,725
2Southwestern Illinois College
Belleville Public · Certificate
$77,9359436%—$12,750
3College of DuPage
Glen Ellyn Public · Associate degree Small program
$58,1601825%——
4Western Illinois University
Macomb Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,4321545%—$22,723

Colleges awarding the most Fire Protection degrees in Illinois

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Southwestern Illinois College
Belleville Public
94$77,935
2Elgin Community College
Elgin Public
86Not reported
3Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove Public
70Not reported
4McHenry County College
Crystal Lake Public
66Not reported
5Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Carbondale Public
57$104,017
6Lewis and Clark Community College
Godfrey Public
48Not reported
7College of Lake County
Grayslake Public
24Not reported
8William Rainey Harper College
Palatine Public
22Not reported
9Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills Public
20Not reported
10Lincoln Land Community College
Springfield Public
16Not reported
Show the other 11 Illinois colleges offering Fire Protection
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Prairie State CollegeChicago HeightsPublic48
College of DuPageGlen EllynPublic18
Joliet Junior CollegeJolietPublic18
Western Illinois UniversityMacombPublic15
Illinois Central CollegeEast PeoriaPublic12
John Wood Community CollegeQuincyPublic11
Triton CollegeRiver GrovePublic9
Oakton CollegeDes PlainesPublic8
Rock Valley CollegeRockfordPublic8
City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X CollegeChicagoPublic4
Parkland CollegeChampaignPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Fire Inspectors and Investigators (SOC 33-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.8%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$78,060
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningCritical ThinkingWritingSpeakingReading ComprehensionMonitoring

What Fire Inspectors and Investigators earn in Illinois

Jobs in Illinois
440
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$73,330
median $62,400
Best-paying metro
$74,460
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN

Related careers

Firefighters
$76,530 avg · 18,400 jobs
Career/Technical Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$72,140 avg · 4,420 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Firefighting and Prevention Workers
$115,980 avg · 3,240 jobs
Fire Inspectors and Investigators
$73,330 avg · 440 jobs
Forest Fire Inspectors and Prevention Specialists
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Fire Protection programs in Illinois.

Which Illinois colleges award the most Fire Protection degrees?+

Southwestern Illinois College (94 graduates a year), Elgin Community College (86 graduates a year) and Waubonsee Community College (70 graduates a year) award the most Fire Protection degrees and certificates in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 21 Illinois colleges offer Fire Protection.

Which Fire Protection program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Southern Illinois University - Carbondale tops the list at $104,017. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Fire Inspectors and Investigators earn in Illinois?+

The average annual wage for Fire Inspectors and Investigators in Illinois is $73,330 (median $62,400), across about 440 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Fire Protection program?+

The Fire Protection program focuses on equipping students with the knowledge and skills needed in the field of homeland security, law enforcement, and firefighting. This program is ideal for individuals interested in preventing and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, critical thinking, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Fire Inspectors and Investigators?+

The national job outlook is about +3.8% growth with around 1,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card