Best colleges for Physics in North Carolina
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University at Raleigh are the top bachelor's Physics programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. University of North Carolina at Charlotte leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,150, College Scorecard. Duke University, North Carolina State University at Raleigh and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill award the most Physics degrees in North Carolina: 72, 64 and 51 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 North Carolina colleges offer Physics and award 354 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte Charlotte Public · Bachelor's degree | $70,150 | 44 | 69% | — | $28,750 |
| 2 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Public · Bachelor's degree | $62,647 | 51 | 91% | — | $19,200 |
| 3 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh Raleigh Public · Bachelor's degree | $43,740 | 64 | 85% | — | $23,490 |
Colleges awarding the most Physics degrees in North Carolina
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Duke University Durham Private not-for-profit | 72 | Not reported |
| 2 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh Raleigh Public | 64 | $43,740 |
| 3 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Public | 51 | $62,647 |
| 4 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte Charlotte Public | 44 | $70,150 |
| 5 | Appalachian State University Boone Public | 39 | Not reported |
| 6 | Davidson College Davidson Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 7 | North Carolina A & T State University Greensboro Public | 14 | Not reported |
| 8 | Wake Forest University Winston-Salem Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
| 9 | East Carolina University Greenville Public | 9 | Not reported |
| 10 | Elon University Elon Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 7 North Carolina colleges offering Physics
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of North Carolina Asheville | Asheville | Public | 6 |
| North Carolina Central University | Durham | Public | 6 |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | Wilmington | Public | 6 |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | Greensboro | Public | 3 |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke | Pembroke | Public | 3 |
| Brevard College | Brevard | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| High Point University | High Point | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Physicists (SOC 19-2012).
Top skills
What Physicists earn in North Carolina
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Physics programs in North Carolina.
Which North Carolina colleges award the most Physics degrees?+
Duke University (72 graduates a year), North Carolina State University at Raleigh (64 graduates a year) and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (51 graduates a year) award the most Physics degrees in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 North Carolina colleges offer Physics.
What is the best college for Physics in North Carolina?+
By graduate earnings, University of North Carolina at Charlotte leads among bachelor's Physics programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,150, College Scorecard. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University at Raleigh follow. By degrees awarded, Duke University is the largest, with 72 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Physics program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of North Carolina at Charlotte tops the list at $70,150. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Physicists earn in North Carolina?+
The average annual wage for Physicists in North Carolina is $153,120 (median $174,180), across about 150 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Physics program?+
The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop science, reading comprehension, mathematics, critical thinking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Physicists?+
The national job outlook is about +4.0% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card