New York · Sports

Best colleges for Sports in New York

Ranked by graduate earnings

St. John Fisher University, SUNY Oneonta and Syracuse University are the top bachelor's Sports programs in New York by graduate earnings. St. John Fisher University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $36,273, College Scorecard. State University of New York at Cortland, Syracuse University and SUNY Brockport award the most Sports degrees in New York: 314, 178 and 169 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 62 New York colleges offer Sports and award 2,322 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
62
offering CIP 31.05
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,322
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$29,538
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
19
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,352
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
49%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$71,360
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1St. John Fisher University
Rochester Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,2734574%$25,213$23,364
2SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,1198069%—$22,600
3Syracuse University
Syracuse Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$34,82117884%$28,851$27,000
4SUNY at Fredonia
Fredonia Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,0132550%—$26,000
5Farmingdale State College
Farmingdale Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,7174653%—$18,500
6CUNY Lehman College
Bronx Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,5384451%—$10,861
7State University of New York at Cortland
Cortland Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,28931468%—$25,681
8St Bonaventure University
Saint Bonaventure Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$27,8853567%$23,352$27,000
9St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$27,5348866%$27,359$25,748
10Canisius University
Buffalo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$26,25413066%$17,353$27,000

Top 2 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Focus Personal Training Institute
New York Private for-profit · Certificate
$17,5629479%$19,748$6,333
2Monroe University
Bronx Private for-profit · Associate degree
$11,7499257%$12,028$14,122

Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in New York

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1State University of New York at Cortland
Cortland Public
314$28,289
2Syracuse University
Syracuse Private not-for-profit
178$34,821
3SUNY Brockport
Brockport Public
169$26,253
4Canisius University
Buffalo Private not-for-profit
130$26,254
5St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit
88$27,534
6Adelphi University
Garden City Private not-for-profit
84$25,041
7SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta Public
80$36,119
8Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
69Not reported
9Long Island University
Brookville Private not-for-profit
63$24,096
10Niagara University
Niagara University Private not-for-profit
57Not reported
Show the other 52 New York colleges offering Sports
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Focus Personal Training InstituteNew YorkPrivate for-profit94
Monroe UniversityBronxPrivate for-profit92
CUNY Brooklyn CollegeBrooklynPublic47
Manhattanville UniversityPurchasePrivate not-for-profit46
Farmingdale State CollegeFarmingdalePublic46
St. John Fisher UniversityRochesterPrivate not-for-profit45
CUNY Lehman CollegeBronxPublic44
Hudson Valley Community CollegeTroyPublic38
Manhattan UniversityRiverdalePrivate not-for-profit37
St Bonaventure UniversitySaint BonaventurePrivate not-for-profit35
Finger Lakes Community CollegeCanandaiguaPublic34
St. Thomas Aquinas CollegeSparkillPrivate not-for-profit28
CUNY Queens CollegeQueensPublic27
SUNY College of Technology at AlfredAlfredPublic26
SUNY College of Technology at DelhiDelhiPublic26
SUNY at FredoniaFredoniaPublic25
St. Francis CollegeBrooklynPrivate not-for-profit23
Niagara County Community CollegeSanbornPublic21
Wagner CollegeStaten IslandPrivate not-for-profit21
Suffolk County Community CollegeSeldenPublic21
Erie Community CollegeBuffaloPublic20
Jefferson Community CollegeWatertownPublic19
Mercy UniversityDobbs FerryPrivate not-for-profit18
Mohawk Valley Community CollegeUticaPublic16
Monroe Community CollegeRochesterPublic15
Mount Saint Mary CollegeNewburghPrivate not-for-profit15
SUNY Westchester Community CollegeValhallaPublic15
Jamestown Community CollegeJamestownPublic14
SUNY College of Technology at CantonCantonPublic14
Utica UniversityUticaPrivate not-for-profit14
SUNY MorrisvilleMorrisvillePublic13
United States Military AcademyWest PointPublic13
CUNY Bronx Community CollegeBronxPublic12
SUNY College at PotsdamPotsdamPublic12
Rockland Community CollegeSuffernPublic10
Dutchess Community CollegePoughkeepsiePublic9
Nazareth UniversityRochesterPrivate not-for-profit9
Onondaga Community CollegeSyracusePublic9
Rochester Institute of TechnologyRochesterPrivate not-for-profit9
SUNY Broome Community CollegeBinghamtonPublic8
Nassau Community CollegeGarden CityPublic8
CUNY Queensborough Community CollegeBaysidePublic7
Houghton UniversityHoughtonPrivate not-for-profit7
Roberts Wesleyan UniversityRochesterPrivate not-for-profit6
CUNY Kingsborough Community CollegeBrooklynPublic4
Hilbert CollegeHamburgPrivate not-for-profit4
Marymount Manhattan CollegeNew YorkPrivate not-for-profit4
Fulton-Montgomery Community CollegeJohnstownPublic3
Genesee Community CollegeBataviaPublic3
Clinton Community CollegePlattsburghPublic2
Tompkins Cortland Community CollegeDrydenPublic1
Villa Maria CollegeBuffaloPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in New York

Jobs in New York
360
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$71,360
median $59,940
Best-paying metro
$72,310
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$60,770 avg · 20,140 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$69,580 avg · 11,220 jobs
Athletic Trainers
$73,730 avg · 1,370 jobs
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling
$105,760 avg · 1,330 jobs
Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary
$90,190 avg · 670 jobs
Exercise Physiologists
$71,360 avg · 360 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sports programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most Sports degrees?+

State University of New York at Cortland (314 graduates a year), Syracuse University (178 graduates a year) and SUNY Brockport (169 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 62 New York colleges offer Sports.

What is the best college for Sports in New York?+

By graduate earnings, St. John Fisher University leads among bachelor's Sports programs in New York, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $36,273, College Scorecard. SUNY Oneonta and Syracuse University follow. By degrees awarded, State University of New York at Cortland is the largest, with 314 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Sports program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, St. John Fisher University tops the list at $36,273. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in New York is $71,360 (median $59,940), across about 360 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Sports program?+

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in New YorkParksParksOutdoor EducationParks

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card