Massachusetts · Sports

Best colleges for Sports in Massachusetts

Ranked by graduate earnings

Simmons University, University of Massachusetts-Boston and Lasell University are the top bachelor's Sports programs in Massachusetts by graduate earnings. Simmons University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,876, College Scorecard. University of Massachusetts-Boston, University of Massachusetts-Amherst and Springfield College award the most Sports degrees in Massachusetts: 153, 141 and 133 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 31 Massachusetts colleges offer Sports and award 1,219 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
31
offering CIP 31.05
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,219
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$34,191
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
13
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,290
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
60%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$72,210
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Simmons University
Boston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$48,8762172%$24,848$27,000
2University of Massachusetts-Boston
Boston Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,70315349%—$26,808
3Lasell University
Newton Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,6065359%$23,724$27,000
4University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,41914183%—$26,227
5Springfield College
Springfield Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$34,19113374%$26,290$27,000
6Nichols College
Dudley Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$32,5644563%$29,718$27,000
7Westfield State University
Westfield Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,4564654%—$27,000
8Endicott College
Beverly Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$30,33812176%$34,195$27,000
9Dean College
Franklin Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$28,6094354%$28,874$27,000
10Western New England University
Springfield Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$26,5444064%$29,327$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in Massachusetts

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Massachusetts-Boston
Boston Public
153$37,703
2University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst Public
141$36,419
3Springfield College
Springfield Private not-for-profit
133$34,191
4Endicott College
Beverly Private not-for-profit
121$30,338
5Boston College
Chestnut Hill Private not-for-profit
83Not reported
6University of Massachusetts-Lowell
Lowell Public
65Not reported
7Lasell University
Newton Private not-for-profit
53$36,606
8Merrimack College
North Andover Private not-for-profit
50Not reported
9Northeastern University Professional Programs
Boston Private not-for-profit
50Not reported
10Westfield State University
Westfield Public
46$32,456
Show the other 21 Massachusetts colleges offering Sports
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Nichols CollegeDudleyPrivate not-for-profit45
Dean CollegeFranklinPrivate not-for-profit43
Western New England UniversitySpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit40
Springfield College - Regional, Online, and Continuing Education (Online)SpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit30
American International CollegeSpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit22
Simmons UniversityBostonPrivate not-for-profit21
Salem State UniversitySalemPublic19
Fitchburg State UniversityFitchburgPublic14
Smith CollegeNorthamptonPrivate not-for-profit14
Curry CollegeMiltonPrivate not-for-profit13
Fisher CollegeBostonPrivate not-for-profit13
Regis CollegeWestonPrivate not-for-profit12
Bridgewater State UniversityBridgewaterPublic9
Emmanuel CollegeBostonPrivate not-for-profit8
Clark UniversityWorcesterPrivate not-for-profit4
Holyoke Community CollegeHolyokePublic4
College of Our Lady of the ElmsChicopeePrivate not-for-profit4
Bunker Hill Community CollegeBostonPublic3
Northern Essex Community CollegeHaverhillPublic3
Framingham State UniversityFraminghamPublic2
Northeastern UniversityBostonPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in Massachusetts

Jobs in Massachusetts
180
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$72,210
median $65,950
Best-paying metro
$71,960
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH

Related careers

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$72,370 avg · 9,200 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$69,940 avg · 6,310 jobs
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling
$94,620 avg · 1,030 jobs
Athletic Trainers
$74,390 avg · 630 jobs
Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary
$94,740 avg · 290 jobs
Exercise Physiologists
$72,210 avg · 180 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sports programs in Massachusetts.

Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Sports degrees?+

University of Massachusetts-Boston (153 graduates a year), University of Massachusetts-Amherst (141 graduates a year) and Springfield College (133 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 31 Massachusetts colleges offer Sports.

What is the best college for Sports in Massachusetts?+

By graduate earnings, Simmons University leads among bachelor's Sports programs in Massachusetts, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $48,876, College Scorecard. University of Massachusetts-Boston and Lasell University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Massachusetts-Boston is the largest, with 153 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Sports program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Simmons University tops the list at $48,876. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in Massachusetts?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in Massachusetts is $72,210 (median $65,950), across about 180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Sports program?+

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in MassachusettsParksParksOutdoor EducationParks

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card