North Dakota · Sports

Best colleges for Sports in North Dakota

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University and University of Jamestown award the most Sports degrees and certificates in North Dakota: 68, 59 and 38 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 North Dakota colleges offer Sports and award 317 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
13
offering CIP 31.05
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
317
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$36,646
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$19,583
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
49%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$52,770
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1North Dakota State University
Fargo Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,6465964%—$23,250

Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in North Dakota

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Dakota
Grand Forks Public
68Not reported
2North Dakota State University
Fargo Public
59$36,646
3University of Jamestown
Jamestown Private not-for-profit
38Not reported
4Dickinson State University
Dickinson Public
36Not reported
5University of Mary
Bismarck Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
6Minot State University
Minot Public
26Not reported
7Valley City State University
Valley City Public
24Not reported
8Mayville State University
Mayville Public
13Not reported
9Williston State College
Williston Public
8Not reported
10Lake Region State College
Devils Lake Public
6Not reported
Show the other 3 North Dakota colleges offering Sports
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Bismarck State CollegeBismarckPublic3
United Tribes Technical CollegeBismarckPrivate not-for-profit3
Trinity Bible College and Graduate SchoolEllendalePrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in North Dakota

Jobs in North Dakota
50
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$52,770
median $50,430
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Coaches and Scouts
$46,180 avg · 1,180 jobs
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$41,180 avg · 680 jobs
Athletic Trainers
$60,320 avg · 110 jobs
Athletes and Sports Competitors
— avg · 70 jobs
Exercise Physiologists
$52,770 avg · 50 jobs
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sports programs in North Dakota.

Which North Dakota colleges award the most Sports degrees?+

University of North Dakota (68 graduates a year), North Dakota State University (59 graduates a year) and University of Jamestown (38 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees and certificates in North Dakota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 North Dakota colleges offer Sports.

Which Sports program in North Dakota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, North Dakota State University tops the list at $36,646. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in North Dakota?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in North Dakota is $52,770 (median $50,430), across about 50 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Sports program?+

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in North DakotaParksParksOutdoor EducationParks

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card