New York · Human Resources Management and Services

Best colleges for Human Resources Management and Services in New York

Ranked by graduate earnings

Cornell University, Stony Brook University and New York University award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New York: 342, 107 and 68 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 36 New York colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services and award 982 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

Institutions
36
offering CIP 52.10
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
982
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$39,428
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,356
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
57%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Human Resources Managers
$197,390
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$73,43634295%$17,613$15,000
2Le Moyne College
Syracuse Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$53,317373%$20,356$26,000
3State University of New York at Oswego
Oswego Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$42,9001460%—$20,777
4SUNY College of Technology at Alfred
Alfred Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,658655%—$29,122

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Bryant & Stratton College - Online
Orchard Park Private not-for-profit · Associate degree Online
$39,4284823%$14,394$27,901

Colleges awarding the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New York

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
342$73,436
2Stony Brook University
Stony Brook Public
107Not reported
3New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
68Not reported
4Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
30Not reported
5Mercy University
Dobbs Ferry Private not-for-profit
18Not reported
6Pace University
New York Private not-for-profit
17Not reported
7State University of New York at Oswego
Oswego Public
14$42,900
8CUNY York College
Jamaica Public
11Not reported
9Manhattanville University
Purchase Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
10Farmingdale State College
Farmingdale Public
7Not reported
Show the other 26 New York colleges offering Human Resources Management and Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Empire State University (Degree completion)Saratoga SpringsPublic138
CUNY Graduate School and University Center (Online)New YorkPublic53
Excelsior University (Online)AlbanyPrivate not-for-profit52
Bryant & Stratton College - Online (Online)Orchard ParkPrivate not-for-profit48
Adelphi UniversityGarden CityPrivate not-for-profit6
SUNY College of Technology at AlfredAlfredPublic6
Clarkson UniversityPotsdamPrivate not-for-profit5
St. Joseph's University - New YorkBrooklynPrivate not-for-profit5
SUNY College of Technology at DelhiDelhiPublic5
Herkimer County Community CollegeHerkimerPublic4
Nazareth UniversityRochesterPrivate not-for-profit4
Bryant & Stratton College - AlbanyAlbanyPrivate not-for-profit3
Bryant & Stratton College - BuffaloBuffaloPrivate not-for-profit3
CUNY Bernard M Baruch CollegeNew YorkPublic3
Daemen UniversityAmherstPrivate not-for-profit3
Houghton UniversityHoughtonPrivate not-for-profit3
Le Moyne CollegeSyracusePrivate not-for-profit3
Bryant & Stratton College - Syracuse NorthLiverpoolPrivate not-for-profit2
Bryant & Stratton College - GreeceRochesterPrivate not-for-profit2
Marist UniversityPoughkeepsiePrivate not-for-profit2
Rochester Institute of TechnologyRochesterPrivate not-for-profit2
SUNY Old WestburyOld WestburyPublic2
State University of New York at PlattsburghPlattsburghPublic2
Hofstra UniversityHempsteadPrivate not-for-profit1
Siena UniversityLoudonvillePrivate not-for-profit1
Villa Maria CollegeBuffaloPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Human Resources Managers (SOC 11-3121).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.0%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~17,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,030
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Human Resources Managers earn in New York

Jobs in New York
17,920
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$197,390
median $176,650
Best-paying metro
$204,790
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Human Resources Specialists
$95,040 avg · 54,610 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$82,620 avg · 27,460 jobs
Compliance Officers
$96,120 avg · 23,500 jobs
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$77,210 avg · 23,380 jobs
Human Resources Managers
$197,390 avg · 17,920 jobs
Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis Specialists
$91,070 avg · 11,470 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Resources Management and Services programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees?+

Cornell University (342 graduates a year), Stony Brook University (107 graduates a year) and New York University (68 graduates a year) award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 36 New York colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services.

Which Human Resources Management and Services program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Cornell University tops the list at $73,436. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Human Resources Managers earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Human Resources Managers in New York is $197,390 (median $176,650), across about 17,920 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Resources Management and Services program?+

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Human Resources Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +5.0% growth with around 17,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Human Resources Management and Services in other statesRhode IslandIdahoColoradoUtahDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaVirginiaMaryland

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card