Iowa · Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Best colleges for Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in Iowa

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Iowa, Saint Ambrose University and Drake University award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees and certificates in Iowa: 96, 69 and 54 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Iowa colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions and award 369 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 51.23
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
369
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,731
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
63%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Physical Therapists
$94,780
BLS OEWS May 2025

9 institutions offering Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in Iowa

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Iowa
Iowa City Public
—9675%——
2Saint Ambrose University
Davenport Private not-for-profit
—6961%$21,680—
3Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
—5474%$28,855—
4Des Moines University - Osteopathic Medical Center
West Des Moines Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—53———
5Briar Cliff University
Sioux City Private not-for-profit
—3148%$21,731—
6Clarke University
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
—2656%$21,417—
7Allen College
Waterloo Private not-for-profit
—24———
8Wartburg College
Waverly Private not-for-profit
—1564%$20,228—
9Northwestern College
Orange City Private not-for-profit
—166%$22,419—

Colleges awarding the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees in Iowa

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Iowa
Iowa City Public
96Not reported
2Saint Ambrose University
Davenport Private not-for-profit
69Not reported
3Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
54Not reported
4Briar Cliff University
Sioux City Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
5Clarke University
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
26Not reported
6Allen College
Waterloo Private not-for-profit
24Not reported
7Wartburg College
Waverly Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
8Northwestern College
Orange City Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Iowa colleges offering Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Des Moines University - Osteopathic Medical Center (Graduate only)West Des MoinesPrivate not-for-profit53

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Physical Therapists (SOC 29-1123).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+10.9%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,020
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Physical Therapists earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
2,530
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$94,780
median $97,560
Best-paying metro
$102,270
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island, IA-IL

Related careers

Physical Therapists
$94,780 avg · 2,530 jobs
Rehabilitation Counselors
$43,400 avg · 2,170 jobs
Occupational Therapists
$89,720 avg · 1,290 jobs
Recreational Therapists
$59,030 avg · 230 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees?+

University of Iowa (96 graduates a year), Saint Ambrose University (69 graduates a year) and Drake University (54 graduates a year) award the most Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Iowa colleges offer Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.

How much do Physical Therapists earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Physical Therapists in Iowa is $94,780 (median $97,560), across about 2,530 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program?+

The Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions program prepares students for careers in various health-related fields focused on improving the quality of life for individuals through therapeutic interventions. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Physical Therapists?+

The national job outlook is about +10.9% growth with around 13,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions in other statesWashingtonUtahMichiganNew HampshireIllinoisVirginiaMarylandPennsylvania

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card