Iowa · Health and Medical Administrative Services

Best colleges for Health and Medical Administrative Services in Iowa

Ranked by graduate earnings

Upper Iowa University, Eastern Iowa Community College District and Des Moines Area Community College are the top Health and Medical Administrative Services programs in Iowa by graduate earnings. Upper Iowa University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,916, College Scorecard. Western Iowa Tech Community College, Des Moines Area Community College and Upper Iowa University award the most Health and Medical Administrative Services degrees and certificates in Iowa: 45, 39 and 36 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 Iowa colleges offer Health and Medical Administrative Services and award 287 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Health and Medical Administrative Services program prepares students for vital roles in the healthcare industry, focusing on the management and administration of health services. This program is designed for individuals interested in…

Institutions
18
offering CIP 51.07
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
287
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,662
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,697
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
52%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical and Health Services Managers
$116,020
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 9 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Upper Iowa University
Fayette Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$49,9163634%$22,697$46,649
2Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public · Associate degree
$39,4162245%—$11,700
3Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public · Certificate
$35,6623939%—$17,000
4Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public · Certificate
$31,5464550%—$16,343
5Waldorf University
Forest City Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$46,9232421%$22,328$27,086
6Northeast Iowa Community College
Calmar Public · Certificate Small program
$36,716751%—$20,500
7Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public · Associate degree Small program
$33,009843%—$26,818
8Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public · Certificate Small program
$32,126243%—$23,000
9Orion Technical College
Davenport Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$30,351781%$22,677$9,500

Colleges awarding the most Health and Medical Administrative Services degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public
45$31,546
2Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
39$35,662
3Upper Iowa University
Fayette Private not-for-profit
36$49,916
4Indian Hills Community College
Ottumwa Public
23Not reported
5Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public
22$39,416
6Northwest Iowa Community College
Sheldon Public
12Not reported
7Iowa State University
Ames Public
10Not reported
8Mount Mercy University
Cedar Rapids Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
9Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge Public
9Not reported
10Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
8$33,009
Show the other 8 Iowa colleges offering Health and Medical Administrative Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Waldorf UniversityForest CityPrivate not-for-profit24
Des Moines University - Osteopathic Medical Center (Graduate only)West Des MoinesPrivate not-for-profit22
Orion Technical CollegeDavenportPrivate for-profit7
Northeast Iowa Community CollegeCalmarPublic7
Mercy College of Health SciencesDes MoinesPrivate not-for-profit6
Drake UniversityDes MoinesPrivate not-for-profit4
Hawkeye Community CollegeWaterlooPublic2
Simpson CollegeIndianolaPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+23.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~62,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$117,960
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningMonitoring

What Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
6,200
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$116,020
median $101,940
Best-paying metro
$121,940
Iowa City, IA

Related careers

Medical Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
$42,790 avg · 10,560 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Office and Administrative Support Workers
$68,130 avg · 10,190 jobs
Medical and Health Services Managers
$116,020 avg · 6,200 jobs
Computer User Support Specialists
$60,620 avg · 6,140 jobs
Medical Assistants
$44,930 avg · 5,990 jobs
Claims Adjusters, Examiners, and Investigators
$74,300 avg · 3,930 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Health and Medical Administrative Services programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Health and Medical Administrative Services degrees?+

Western Iowa Tech Community College (45 graduates a year), Des Moines Area Community College (39 graduates a year) and Upper Iowa University (36 graduates a year) award the most Health and Medical Administrative Services degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 Iowa colleges offer Health and Medical Administrative Services.

What is the best college for Health and Medical Administrative Services in Iowa?+

By graduate earnings, Upper Iowa University leads among Health and Medical Administrative Services programs in Iowa, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,916, College Scorecard. Eastern Iowa Community College District and Des Moines Area Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Western Iowa Tech Community College is the largest, with 45 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Health and Medical Administrative Services program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Upper Iowa University tops the list at $49,916. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Medical and Health Services Managers in Iowa is $116,020 (median $101,940), across about 6,200 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Health and Medical Administrative Services program?+

The Health and Medical Administrative Services program prepares students for vital roles in the healthcare industry, focusing on the management and administration of health services. This program is designed for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical and Health Services Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +23.2% growth with around 62,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Health and Medical Administrative Services in other statesDistrict of ColumbiaVermontOregonConnecticutNew HampshireRhode IslandMarylandMinnesota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card