Alabama · Dental Support Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville, Fortis Institute - Birmingham and Fortis College are the top Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $34,837, College Scorecard. George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville, Fortis Institute - Birmingham and Fortis College award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Alabama: 59, 45 and 32 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Alabama colleges offer Dental Support Services and Allied Professions and award 260 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program prepares students for various roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on dental support. This program is ideal for individuals interested in pursuing a career in allied health…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 51.06
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
260
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,566
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$24,111
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
41%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Dental Assistants
$41,710
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public · Associate degree
$34,8375951%—$9,125
2Fortis Institute - Birmingham
Birmingham Private for-profit · Certificate
$31,5544534%$25,961$12,994
3Fortis College
Mobile Private for-profit · Certificate
$22,8213249%$24,111$12,330
4Ross Medical Education Center - Huntsville
Huntsville Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$23,5661651%$21,675$9,500

Colleges awarding the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. * Campuses that share a federal aid ID report one College Scorecard figure.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
59$34,837
2Fortis Institute - Birmingham
Birmingham Private for-profit
45$31,554
3Fortis College
Mobile Private for-profit
32$22,821*
4John C Calhoun State Community College
Tanner Public
30Not reported
5Fortis College - Montgomery
Montgomery Private for-profit
22$22,821*
6Ross Medical Education Center - Huntsville
Huntsville Private for-profit
16$23,566
7Coastal Alabama Community College
Bay Minette Public
13Not reported
8University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
12Not reported
9Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public
8Not reported
10Remington College - Mobile Campus
Mobile Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 2 Alabama colleges offering Dental Support Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
H Councill Trenholm State Community CollegeMontgomeryPublic13
Lawson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic9

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Dental Assistants (SOC 31-9091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~52,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$47,300
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionMonitoringActive LearningCritical Thinking

What Dental Assistants earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
3,740
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$41,710
median $39,080
Best-paying metro
$44,310
Birmingham, AL

Related careers

Dental Assistants
$41,710 avg · 3,740 jobs
Dental Hygienists
$60,850 avg · 3,170 jobs
Dental Laboratory Technicians
$45,430 avg · 1,050 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville (59 graduates a year), Fortis Institute - Birmingham (45 graduates a year) and Fortis College (32 graduates a year) award the most Dental Support Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Alabama colleges offer Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.

What is the best college for Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in Alabama?+

By graduate earnings, George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville leads among Dental Support Services and Allied Professions programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $34,837, College Scorecard. Fortis Institute - Birmingham and Fortis College follow. By degrees awarded, George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville is the largest, with 59 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville tops the list at $34,837. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Dental Assistants earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Dental Assistants in Alabama is $41,710 (median $39,080), across about 3,740 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Dental Support Services and Allied Professions program prepares students for various roles in the healthcare sector, focusing on dental support. This program is ideal for individuals interested in pursuing a career in allied health…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Dental Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 52,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Dental Support Services and Allied Professions in other statesHawaiiNew HampshireOklahomaWashingtonWyomingIdahoMassachusettsDelaware

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card