Best colleges for Allied Health Diagnostic in Alabama
Ranked by graduate earnings
John C Calhoun State Community College, University of South Alabama and Coastal Alabama Community College award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees in Alabama: 202, 175 and 136 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 31 Alabama colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic and award 2,120 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of South Alabama Mobile Public · Bachelor's degree | $59,611 | 175 | 53% | — | $29,192 |
| 2 | Jacksonville State University Jacksonville Public · Bachelor's degree | $55,867 | 41 | 55% | — | $26,000 |
| 3 | Columbia Southern University Orange Beach Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online | $83,927 | 306 | 33% | $15,554 | $24,518 |
Top 10 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cardiac and Vascular Institute of Ultrasound Mobile Private for-profit · Certificate | $60,226 | 42 | — | — | $24,160 |
| 2 | Lurleen B Wallace Community College Andalusia Public · Associate degree | $52,384 | 39 | 41% | — | — |
| 3 | George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville Hanceville Public · Associate degree | $48,422 | 160 | 51% | — | $17,500 |
| 4 | Bevill State Community College Jasper Public · Certificate | $43,416 | 28 | 38% | — | — |
| 5 | George C Wallace Community College - Dothan Dothan Public · Associate degree | $42,801 | 122 | 35% | — | — |
| 6 | Gadsden State Community College Gadsden Public · Associate degree | $41,946 | 150 | 38% | — | — |
| 7 | Southern Union State Community College Wadley Public · Associate degree | $37,835 | 167 | 36% | — | — |
| 8 | Herzing University - Birmingham Birmingham Private not-for-profit · Certificate Small program | $57,114 | 6 | 13% | $20,803 | $7,195 |
| 9 | Jefferson State Community College Birmingham Public · Associate degree | $51,826 | 130 | 26% | — | $17,875 |
| 10 | Shelton State Community College Tuscaloosa Public · Associate degree Small program | $48,862 | 9 | 30% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees in Alabama
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | John C Calhoun State Community College Tanner Public | 202 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of South Alabama Mobile Public | 175 | $59,611 |
| 3 | Coastal Alabama Community College Bay Minette Public | 136 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Public | 73 | Not reported |
| 5 | Northwest Shoals Community College Muscle Shoals Public | 69 | Not reported |
| 6 | Faulkner University Montgomery Private not-for-profit | 44 | Not reported |
| 7 | Jacksonville State University Jacksonville Public | 41 | $55,867 |
| 8 | Samford University Birmingham Private not-for-profit | 35 | Not reported |
| 9 | Northeast Alabama Community College Rainsville Public | 31 | Not reported |
| 10 | Chattahoochee Valley Community College Phenix City Public | 18 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 21 Alabama colleges offering Allied Health Diagnostic
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (SOC 29-2032).
Top skills
What Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in Alabama
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Allied Health Diagnostic programs in Alabama.
Which Alabama colleges award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees?+
John C Calhoun State Community College (202 graduates a year), University of South Alabama (175 graduates a year) and Coastal Alabama Community College (136 graduates a year) award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 31 Alabama colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic.
Which Allied Health Diagnostic program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of South Alabama tops the list at $59,611. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in Alabama?+
The average annual wage for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers in Alabama is $69,160 (median $68,180), across about 1,510 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Allied Health Diagnostic program?+
The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers?+
The national job outlook is about +13.0% growth with around 5,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card