Alabama · Computer and Information Sciences

Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

The University of Alabama, Auburn University and University of Alabama at Birmingham are the top bachelor's Computer and Information Sciences programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. The University of Alabama leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $83,651, College Scorecard. Auburn University at Montgomery, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Auburn University award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Alabama: 365, 345 and 182 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 40 Alabama colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 2,900 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

Institutions
40
offering CIP 11.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,900
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$67,315
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
13
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,923
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
42%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$124,970
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public · Bachelor's degree
$83,65116873%—$22,000
2Auburn University
Auburn Public · Bachelor's degree
$72,44018282%—$25,000
3University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree
$69,63334564%—$24,000
4University of North Alabama
Florence Public · Bachelor's degree
$68,9967555%—$27,000
5Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public · Bachelor's degree
$62,7953355%—$23,578
6Troy University
Troy Public · Bachelor's degree
$58,40710750%—$27,437
7University of South Alabama
Mobile Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,2533153%—$27,000
8Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public · Bachelor's degree
$45,52636533%—$41,176
9Athens State University
Athens Public · Bachelor's degree Degree completion
$78,43522——$31,060
10Strayer University - Alabama
Birmingham Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online
$67,315310%$22,923$50,737

Top certificate or associate program

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1John C Calhoun State Community College
Tanner Public · Associate degree
$36,25844741%——

Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public
365$45,526
2University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
345$69,633
3Auburn University
Auburn Public
182$72,440
4The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public
168$83,651
5Troy University
Troy Public
107$58,407
6Bevill State Community College
Jasper Public
89Not reported
7Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public
83Not reported
8George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public
82Not reported
9University of North Alabama
Florence Public
75$68,996
10George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
69Not reported
Show the other 30 Alabama colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
John C Calhoun State Community CollegeTannerPublic447
Columbia Southern University (Online)Orange BeachPrivate for-profit231
Jefferson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic91
Central Alabama Community CollegeAlexander CityPublic68
Snead State Community CollegeBoazPublic64
Alabama A & M UniversityNormalPublic46
George C Wallace State Community College - SelmaSelmaPublic42
Jacksonville State UniversityJacksonvillePublic33
Northwest Shoals Community CollegeMuscle ShoalsPublic32
University of South AlabamaMobilePublic31
Strayer University - Alabama (Online)BirminghamPrivate for-profit31
Coastal Alabama Community CollegeBay MinettePublic27
J. F. Drake State Community and Technical CollegeHuntsvillePublic24
Northeast Alabama Community CollegeRainsvillePublic23
Athens State University (Degree completion)AthensPublic22
H Councill Trenholm State Community CollegeMontgomeryPublic19
Lawson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic18
Southern Union State Community CollegeWadleyPublic14
Chattahoochee Valley Community CollegePhenix CityPublic12
Samford UniversityBirminghamPrivate not-for-profit12
Shelton State Community CollegeTuscaloosaPublic10
Talladega CollegeTalladegaPrivate not-for-profit7
Enterprise State Community CollegeEnterprisePublic6
Faulkner UniversityMontgomeryPrivate not-for-profit4
Lurleen B Wallace Community CollegeAndalusiaPublic4
University of MobileMobilePrivate not-for-profit4
Reid State Technical CollegeEvergreenPublic4
Bishop State Community CollegeMobilePublic4
Tuskegee UniversityTuskegeePrivate not-for-profit4
University of MontevalloMontevalloPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
570
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$124,970
median $117,870
Best-paying metro
$126,870
Huntsville, AL

Related careers

Software Developers
$122,840 avg · 17,450 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$148,000 avg · 7,670 jobs
Computer Systems Analysts
$107,430 avg · 6,560 jobs
Network and Computer Systems Administrators
$89,490 avg · 5,040 jobs
Computer Network Architects
$128,680 avg · 4,200 jobs
Information Security Analysts
$119,070 avg · 4,010 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+

Auburn University at Montgomery (365 graduates a year), University of Alabama at Birmingham (345 graduates a year) and Auburn University (182 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 40 Alabama colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.

What is the best college for Computer and Information Sciences in Alabama?+

By graduate earnings, The University of Alabama leads among bachelor's Computer and Information Sciences programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $83,651, College Scorecard. Auburn University and University of Alabama at Birmingham follow. By degrees awarded, Auburn University at Montgomery is the largest, with 365 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Computer and Information Sciences program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The University of Alabama tops the list at $83,651. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Alabama is $124,970 (median $117,870), across about 570 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card