Alabama · Information Science/Studies

Best colleges for Information Science/Studies in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of South Alabama and Jacksonville State University award the most Information Science/Studies degrees in Alabama: 66, 38 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Alabama colleges offer Information Science/Studies and award 136 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Information Science/Studies program focuses on the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It encompasses various professional activities, including information management, librarianship, and archiving,…

Institutions
6
offering CIP 11.04
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
136
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,682
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,720
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
35%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$124,970
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of South Alabama
Mobile Public · Bachelor's degree
$56,3443853%—$30,550
2Strayer University - Alabama
Birmingham Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online Small program
$71,16720%$22,923$53,250
3South University - Montgomery
Montgomery Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$44,68239%$25,720$52,173
4Alabama State University
Montgomery Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,6511330%—$31,993

Colleges awarding the most Information Science/Studies degrees in Alabama

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
66Not reported
2University of South Alabama
Mobile Public
38$56,344
3Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public
14Not reported
4Alabama State University
Montgomery Public
13$30,651
Show the other 2 Alabama colleges offering Information Science/Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
South University - MontgomeryMontgomeryPrivate for-profit3
Strayer University - Alabama (Online)BirminghamPrivate for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
570
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$124,970
median $117,870
Best-paying metro
$126,870
Huntsville, AL

Related careers

Software Developers
$122,840 avg · 17,450 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$148,000 avg · 7,670 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$106,400 avg · 2,630 jobs
Computer and Information Research Scientists
$124,970 avg · 570 jobs
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$99,120 avg · 500 jobs
Database Architects
$118,790 avg · 270 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Information Science/Studies programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Information Science/Studies degrees?+

University of Alabama at Birmingham (66 graduates a year), University of South Alabama (38 graduates a year) and Jacksonville State University (14 graduates a year) award the most Information Science/Studies degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Alabama colleges offer Information Science/Studies.

Which Information Science/Studies program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of South Alabama tops the list at $56,344. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Alabama is $124,970 (median $117,870), across about 570 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Information Science/Studies program?+

The Information Science/Studies program focuses on the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It encompasses various professional activities, including information management, librarianship, and archiving,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card