Washington · Physics

Best colleges for Physics in Washington

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Washington-Seattle Campus, Washington State University and Western Washington University award the most Physics degrees and certificates in Washington: 134, 16 and 15 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Washington colleges offer Physics and award 216 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 40.08
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
216
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,474
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,508
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
68%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Physicists
$149,060
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,47413485%—$17,113
2Whitworth University
Spokane Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$65,316571%$23,510$23,250

Colleges awarding the most Physics degrees in Washington

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. * Campuses that share a federal aid ID report one College Scorecard figure.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
134$41,474*
2Washington State University
Pullman Public
16Not reported
3Western Washington University
Bellingham Public
15Not reported
4Central Washington University
Ellensburg Public
11Not reported
5Pacific Lutheran University
Tacoma Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
6University of Washington-Bothell Campus
Bothell Public
7$41,474*
7Whitworth University
Spokane Private not-for-profit
5$65,316
8Gonzaga University
Spokane Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Seattle University
Seattle Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
10University of Puget Sound
Tacoma Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
Show the other 3 Washington colleges offering Physics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Whitman CollegeWalla WallaPrivate not-for-profit3
Eastern Washington UniversityCheneyPublic2
Seattle Pacific UniversitySeattlePrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Physicists (SOC 19-2012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.0%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$166,290
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

ScienceReading ComprehensionMathematicsCritical ThinkingSpeakingActive Listening

What Physicists earn in Washington

Jobs in Washington
450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$149,060
median $134,790
Best-paying metro
$145,550
Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA

Related careers

Physicists
$149,060 avg · 450 jobs
Physics Teachers, Postsecondary
$98,420 avg · 310 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Physics programs in Washington.

Which Washington colleges award the most Physics degrees?+

University of Washington-Seattle Campus (134 graduates a year), Washington State University (16 graduates a year) and Western Washington University (15 graduates a year) award the most Physics degrees and certificates in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Washington colleges offer Physics.

Which Physics program in Washington has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Washington-Seattle Campus tops the list at $41,474. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Physicists earn in Washington?+

The average annual wage for Physicists in Washington is $149,060 (median $134,790), across about 450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Physics program?+

The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop science, reading comprehension, mathematics, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Physicists?+

The national job outlook is about +4.0% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card