Virginia · Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services

Best colleges for Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage, Cayce/Reilly School of Massage and Columbia College are the top Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $27,082, College Scorecard. Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage, Columbia College and Cayce/Reilly School of Massage award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees and certificates in Virginia: 133, 57 and 28 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Virginia colleges offer Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services and award 318 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program focuses on alternative therapies aimed at treating trauma and stress-related disorders. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring therapeutic techniques…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 51.35
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
318
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$19,899
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,666
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
62%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Massage Therapists
$72,490
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage
Falls Church Private for-profit · Certificate
$27,082133——$6,333
2Cayce/Reilly School of Massage
Virginia Beach Private not-for-profit · Certificate
$19,8992890%$17,571$7,389
3Columbia College
Vienna Private for-profit · Certificate
$17,2375780%$10,583$4,665
4Fortis College - Richmond
Richmond Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$24,7181650%$22,666$9,556

Colleges awarding the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees in Virginia

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage
Falls Church Private for-profit
133$27,082
2Columbia College
Vienna Private for-profit
57$17,237
3Cayce/Reilly School of Massage
Virginia Beach Private not-for-profit
28$19,899
4Brightpoint Community College
Chester Public
17Not reported
5Fortis College - Richmond
Richmond Private for-profit
16$24,718
6Chester Career College
CHESTER Private for-profit
10Not reported
7Eastern Virginia Career College
Fredericksburg Private for-profit
7Not reported
8Sylvain Melloul International Hair Academy
Lynchburg Private for-profit
6Not reported
Show the other 1 Virginia colleges offering Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Lotus Professional College (Graduate only)RichmondPrivate for-profit44

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Massage Therapists (SOC 31-9011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.4%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~24,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$57,950
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Massage Therapists earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
2,730
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$72,490
median $62,220
Best-paying metro
$74,820
Charlottesville, VA

Related careers

Massage Therapists
$72,490 avg · 2,730 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees?+

Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage (133 graduates a year), Columbia College (57 graduates a year) and Cayce/Reilly School of Massage (28 graduates a year) award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Virginia colleges offer Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services.

What is the best college for Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services in Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage leads among Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $27,082, College Scorecard. Cayce/Reilly School of Massage and Columbia College follow. By degrees awarded, Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage is the largest, with 133 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage tops the list at $27,082. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Massage Therapists earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Massage Therapists in Virginia is $72,490 (median $62,220), across about 2,730 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program?+

The Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program focuses on alternative therapies aimed at treating trauma and stress-related disorders. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring therapeutic techniques…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Massage Therapists?+

The national job outlook is about +15.4% growth with around 24,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services in other statesAlaskaIndianaSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaOregonWashingtonNebraskaUtah

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card