South Dakota · Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services

Best colleges for Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services in South Dakota

Ranked by graduate earnings

Paul Mitchell the School - Rapid City, Stewart School and The Salon Professional Academy award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees and certificates in South Dakota: 7, 5 and 2 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 South Dakota colleges offer Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services and award 14 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program focuses on alternative therapies aimed at treating trauma and stress-related disorders. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring therapeutic techniques…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 51.35
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
14
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$27,821
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$17,562
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
85%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Massage Therapists
$48,790
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Paul Mitchell the School - Rapid City
Rapid City Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$27,821788%$22,600$7,917

Colleges awarding the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees in South Dakota

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Paul Mitchell the School - Rapid City
Rapid City Private for-profit
7$27,821
2Stewart School
Sioux Falls Private for-profit
5Not reported
3The Salon Professional Academy
Rapid City Private for-profit
2Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Massage Therapists (SOC 31-9011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.4%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~24,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$57,950
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Massage Therapists earn in South Dakota

Jobs in South Dakota
180
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$48,790
median $52,000
Best-paying metro
$48,930
Rapid City, SD

Related careers

Massage Therapists
$48,790 avg · 180 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services programs in South Dakota.

Which South Dakota colleges award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees?+

Paul Mitchell the School - Rapid City (7 graduates a year), Stewart School (5 graduates a year) and The Salon Professional Academy (2 graduates a year) award the most Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services degrees and certificates in South Dakota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 South Dakota colleges offer Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services.

How much do Massage Therapists earn in South Dakota?+

The average annual wage for Massage Therapists in South Dakota is $48,790 (median $52,000), across about 180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program?+

The Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services program focuses on alternative therapies aimed at treating trauma and stress-related disorders. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring therapeutic techniques…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Massage Therapists?+

The national job outlook is about +15.4% growth with around 24,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services in other statesAlaskaIndianaSouth CarolinaOregonWashingtonNebraskaUtahVirginia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card