Texas · Clinical

Best colleges for Clinical in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Lamar University, University of North Texas and Texas A&M University - College Station award the most Clinical degrees and certificates in Texas: 445, 191 and 175 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 52 Texas colleges offer Clinical and award 2,284 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology program focuses on understanding and addressing psychological, emotional, and behavioral issues. It is designed for students interested in pursuing careers in various areas of psychology,…

Institutions
52
offering CIP 42.28
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,284
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$32,553
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,359
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Clinical and Counseling Psychologists
$92,130
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Belton Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$33,8055849%$27,869$27,000
2University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,55319161%—$19,583

Colleges awarding the most Clinical degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Lamar University
Beaumont Public
445Not reported
2University of North Texas
Denton Public
191$32,553
3Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
175Not reported
4Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
90Not reported
5Tarleton State University
Stephenville Public
83Not reported
6The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler Public
83Not reported
7Texas State University
San Marcos Public
73Not reported
8Texas A&M University - San Antonio
San Antonio Public
69Not reported
9University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
60Not reported
10West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
59Not reported
Show the other 42 Texas colleges offering Clinical
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Amberton University (Online)GarlandPrivate not-for-profit68
University of Mary Hardin-BaylorBeltonPrivate not-for-profit58
Angelo State UniversitySan AngeloPublic51
Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit50
The University of Texas at AustinAustinPublic50
Baylor UniversityWacoPrivate not-for-profit43
The Chicago School at Dallas (Graduate only)PlanoPrivate not-for-profit42
Midwestern State UniversityWichita FallsPublic40
The University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioPublic39
Texas A&M University - VictoriaVictoriaPublic38
The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyEdinburgPublic37
Dallas Baptist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit35
Texas Woman's UniversityDentonPublic35
The University of Texas at ArlingtonArlingtonPublic31
Texas Tech UniversityLubbockPublic29
Texas Wesleyan UniversityFort WorthPrivate not-for-profit29
University of HoustonHoustonPublic27
University of North Texas at DallasDallasPublic27
Wayland Baptist UniversityPlainviewPrivate not-for-profit22
Nelson UniversityWaxahachiePrivate not-for-profit19
Saint Edward's UniversityAustinPrivate not-for-profit17
Stephen F Austin State UniversityNacogdochesPublic16
Prairie View A & M UniversityPrairie ViewPublic15
Abilene Christian UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit14
Texas A & M International UniversityLaredoPublic14
Texas A&M University - TexarkanaTexarkanaPublic12
Trinity UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit12
St. Mary's UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit11
Southern Methodist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit10
East Texas Baptist UniversityMarshallPrivate not-for-profit9
Lubbock Christian UniversityLubbockPrivate not-for-profit9
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (Graduate only)DallasPublic9
Texas A&M University - KingsvilleKingsvillePublic8
Texas A & M University - Corpus ChristiCorpus ChristiPublic6
Rice UniversityHoustonPrivate not-for-profit5
East Texas A&M UniversityCommercePublic4
The University of Texas at El PasoEl PasoPublic4
The University of Texas Permian BasinOdessaPublic4
LeTourneau UniversityLongviewPrivate not-for-profit2
Southwestern Adventist UniversityKeenePrivate not-for-profit2
Texas A&M University - Central TexasKilleenPublic2
University of St ThomasHoustonPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Clinical and Counseling Psychologists (SOC 19-3033).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~4,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$95,830
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
3,640
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$92,130
median $83,660
Best-paying metro
$129,630
Killeen-Temple, TX

Related careers

Human Resources Specialists
$74,920 avg · 84,930 jobs
Management Analysts
$110,350 avg · 50,990 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$69,910 avg · 46,630 jobs
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$69,940 avg · 31,730 jobs
Human Resources Managers
$151,070 avg · 23,220 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Clinical programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Clinical degrees?+

Lamar University (445 graduates a year), University of North Texas (191 graduates a year) and Texas A&M University - College Station (175 graduates a year) award the most Clinical degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 52 Texas colleges offer Clinical.

Which Clinical program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor tops the list at $33,805. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists in Texas is $92,130 (median $83,660), across about 3,640 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Clinical program?+

The Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology program focuses on understanding and addressing psychological, emotional, and behavioral issues. It is designed for students interested in pursuing careers in various areas of psychology,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists?+

The national job outlook is about +11.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card