South Carolina · Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language

Best colleges for Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in South Carolina

Ranked by graduates a year

Columbia International University, College of Charleston and Furman University award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in South Carolina: 6, 2 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 South Carolina colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language and award 9 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 13.14
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
9
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$24,932
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors
$62,770
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in South Carolina

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
—647%$21,361—
2College of Charleston
Charleston Public
—266%——
3Furman University
Greenville Private not-for-profit
—179%$24,932—

Colleges awarding the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees in South Carolina

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
2College of Charleston
Charleston Public
2Not reported
3Furman University
Greenville Private not-for-profit
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors (SOC 25-3011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-13.7%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~3,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionLearning StrategiesActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in South Carolina

Jobs in South Carolina
480
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$62,770
median $62,940
Best-paying metro
$70,800
Spartanburg, SC

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$62,210 avg · 25,030 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$62,580 avg · 9,750 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$36,190 avg · 4,550 jobs
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special Education
$60,850 avg · 1,540 jobs
Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors
$62,770 avg · 480 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language programs in South Carolina.

Which South Carolina colleges award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees?+

Columbia International University (6 graduates a year), College of Charleston (2 graduates a year) and Furman University (1 graduate a year) award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in South Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 South Carolina colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.

How much do Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in South Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors in South Carolina is $62,770 (median $62,940), across about 480 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program?+

The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, learning strategies, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors?+

The national job outlook is about -13.7% growth with around 3,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in other statesCaliforniaPennsylvaniaNew YorkIowaOhioGeorgiaVirginiaMinnesota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card