Best colleges for Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in Iowa
Ranked by graduate earnings
Morningside University, University of Northern Iowa and Buena Vista University award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Iowa: 13, 13 and 3 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Iowa colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language and award 33 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $41,267 | 13 | 68% | — | $26,250 |
Colleges awarding the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees in Iowa
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Morningside University Sioux City Private not-for-profit | 13 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls Public | 13 | $41,267 |
| 3 | Buena Vista University Storm Lake Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
| 4 | Iowa State University Ames Public | 3 | Not reported |
| 5 | Emmaus Bible College Dubuque Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors (SOC 25-3011).
Top skills
What Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Iowa
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language programs in Iowa.
Which Iowa colleges award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees?+
Morningside University (13 graduates a year), University of Northern Iowa (13 graduates a year) and Buena Vista University (3 graduates a year) award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Iowa colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.
How much do Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Iowa?+
The average annual wage for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors in Iowa is $49,330 (median $48,010), across about 370 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program?+
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, learning strategies, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors?+
The national job outlook is about -13.7% growth with around 3,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card