Minnesota · Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language

Best colleges for Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in Minnesota

Ranked by graduate earnings

Hamline University, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and Minnesota State University - Mankato award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Minnesota: 36, 27 and 18 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Minnesota colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language and award 127 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 13.14
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
127
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,288
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,452
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors
$75,930
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public · Certificate
$23,2882785%—$19,000

Colleges awarding the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees in Minnesota

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Hamline University
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
36Not reported
2University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
27$23,288
3Minnesota State University - Mankato
Mankato Public
18Not reported
4Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud Public
13Not reported
5University of Minnesota-Duluth
Duluth Public
5Not reported
6Minnesota State University Moorhead
Moorhead Public
5Not reported
7North Central University
Minneapolis Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
8Bethel University
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
Winona Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
10Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall Public
3Not reported
Show the other 4 Minnesota colleges offering Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Capella University (Online)MinneapolisPrivate for-profit4
Winona State UniversityWinonaPublic2
Augsburg UniversityMinneapolisPrivate not-for-profit1
Crown CollegeSaint BonifaciusPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors (SOC 25-3011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-13.7%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~3,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionLearning StrategiesActive ListeningSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
2,880
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$75,930
median $76,800
Best-paying metro
$78,350
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$74,790 avg · 26,640 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$45,130 avg · 10,320 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$70,420 avg · 8,890 jobs
Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors
$75,930 avg · 2,880 jobs
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special Education
$72,880 avg · 2,840 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees?+

Hamline University (36 graduates a year), University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (27 graduates a year) and Minnesota State University - Mankato (18 graduates a year) award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Minnesota colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.

Which Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities tops the list at $23,288. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Minnesota?+

The average annual wage for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors in Minnesota is $75,930 (median $76,800), across about 2,880 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program?+

The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, learning strategies, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors?+

The national job outlook is about -13.7% growth with around 3,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in other statesCaliforniaPennsylvaniaNew YorkIowaOhioGeorgiaVirginiaAlabama

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card