Ohio · Legal Support Services

Best colleges for Legal Support Services in Ohio

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Cincinnati, Cuyahoga Community College District and Kent State University at Kent award the most Legal Support Services degrees in Ohio: 89, 45 and 19 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 19 Ohio colleges offer Legal Support Services and award 319 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Legal Support Services program prepares students for various roles within the legal field, focusing on essential skills and knowledge required to assist legal professionals. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to become…

Institutions
19
offering CIP 22.03
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
319
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,289
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$19,592
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
40%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$64,180
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati Public · Bachelor's degree
$45,5498975%—$25,258
2Kent State University at Kent
Kent Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$38,9811964%—$25,000
3University of Toledo
Toledo Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,5541657%—$27,605
4Herzing University - Akron
Akron Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,315119%$22,849$31,441

Top 2 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Stautzenberger College - Maumee
Maumee Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$35,2891355%$21,788$20,834
2Bryant & Stratton College - Parma
Parma Private not-for-profit · Associate degree Small program
$30,998119%$15,356$25,524

Colleges awarding the most Legal Support Services degrees in Ohio

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati Public
89$45,549
2Cuyahoga Community College District
Cleveland Public
45Not reported
3Kent State University at Kent
Kent Public
19$38,981
4University of Toledo
Toledo Public
16$35,554
5Sinclair Community College
Dayton Public
14Not reported
6Youngstown State University
Youngstown Public
9Not reported
7ETI Technical College of Niles
Niles Private for-profit
2Not reported
8University of Northwestern Ohio
Lima Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
9Owens Community College
Perrysburg Public
2Not reported
10Mount St. Joseph University
Cincinnati Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 9 Ohio colleges offering Legal Support Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Cincinnati-Clermont CollegeBataviaPublic47
Columbus State Community CollegeColumbusPublic23
Cincinnati State Technical and Community CollegeCincinnatiPublic15
Stark State CollegeNorth CantonPublic15
Stautzenberger College - MaumeeMaumeePrivate for-profit13
Lakeland Community CollegeKirtlandPublic4
Herzing University - AkronAkronPrivate not-for-profit1
Bryant & Stratton College - ParmaParmaPrivate not-for-profit1
Clark State CollegeSpringfieldPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Paralegals and Legal Assistants (SOC 23-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~39,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,010
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

WritingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in Ohio

Jobs in Ohio
9,270
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$64,180
median $60,420
Best-paying metro
$68,640
Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN

Related careers

Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$64,180 avg · 9,270 jobs
Legal Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
$53,970 avg · 4,360 jobs
Interpreters and Translators
$63,530 avg · 2,030 jobs
Title Examiners, Abstractors, and Searchers
$58,980 avg · 1,860 jobs
Legal Support Workers, All Other
$82,550 avg · 690 jobs
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners
$70,870 avg · 340 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Legal Support Services programs in Ohio.

Which Ohio colleges award the most Legal Support Services degrees?+

University of Cincinnati (89 graduates a year), Cuyahoga Community College District (45 graduates a year) and Kent State University at Kent (19 graduates a year) award the most Legal Support Services degrees in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 19 Ohio colleges offer Legal Support Services.

Which Legal Support Services program in Ohio has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Cincinnati tops the list at $45,549. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in Ohio?+

The average annual wage for Paralegals and Legal Assistants in Ohio is $64,180 (median $60,420), across about 9,270 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Legal Support Services program?+

The Legal Support Services program prepares students for various roles within the legal field, focusing on essential skills and knowledge required to assist legal professionals. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to become…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop writing, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Paralegals and Legal Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +0.2% growth with around 39,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card