Best colleges for Culinary Arts and Related Services in North Carolina
Ranked by graduate earnings
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College, Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte and Central Piedmont Community College are the top Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $32,602, College Scorecard. Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte, Central Piedmont Community College and Wake Technical Community College award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 182, 159 and 137 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 27 North Carolina colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services and award 928 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…
Top 4 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Asheville Public · Associate degree | $32,602 | 80 | 40% | — | — |
| 2 | Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte Charlotte Private not-for-profit · Associate degree | $27,514 | 182 | 49% | $29,446 | $14,745 |
| 3 | Central Piedmont Community College Charlotte Public · Associate degree | $27,127 | 159 | 31% | — | — |
| 4 | Guilford Technical Community College Jamestown Public · Associate degree | $14,813 | 40 | 31% | — | $31,724 |
Colleges awarding the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees in North Carolina
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte Charlotte Private not-for-profit | 182 | $27,514 |
| 2 | Central Piedmont Community College Charlotte Public | 159 | $27,127 |
| 3 | Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Public | 137 | Not reported |
| 4 | Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Asheville Public | 80 | $32,602 |
| 5 | Wilkes Community College Wilkesboro Public | 54 | Not reported |
| 6 | Cape Fear Community College Wilmington Public | 44 | Not reported |
| 7 | Guilford Technical Community College Jamestown Public | 40 | $14,813 |
| 8 | Carteret Community College Morehead City Public | 33 | Not reported |
| 9 | Sandhills Community College Pinehurst Public | 19 | Not reported |
| 10 | Central Carolina Community College Sanford Public | 15 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 17 North Carolina colleges offering Culinary Arts and Related Services
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fayetteville Technical Community College | Fayetteville | Public | 43 |
| Mitchell Community College | Statesville | Public | 16 |
| College of the Albemarle | Elizabeth City | Public | 14 |
| Coastal Carolina Community College | Jacksonville | Public | 13 |
| Lenoir Community College | Kinston | Public | 11 |
| Durham Technical Community College | Durham | Public | 10 |
| Nash Community College | Rocky Mount | Public | 10 |
| Vance-Granville Community College | Henderson | Public | 10 |
| Livingstone College | Salisbury | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Robeson Community College | Lumberton | Public | 6 |
| Johnston Community College | Smithfield | Public | 5 |
| Southwestern Community College | Sylva | Public | 5 |
| Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute | Hudson | Public | 4 |
| Montgomery Community College | Troy | Public | 4 |
| Wilson Community College | Wilson | Public | 3 |
| Alamance Community College | Graham | Public | 2 |
| Tri-County Community College | Murphy | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Cooks, Restaurant (SOC 35-2014).
Top skills
What Cooks, Restaurant earn in North Carolina
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in North Carolina.
Which North Carolina colleges award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees?+
Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte (182 graduates a year), Central Piedmont Community College (159 graduates a year) and Wake Technical Community College (137 graduates a year) award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 27 North Carolina colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services.
What is the best college for Culinary Arts and Related Services in North Carolina?+
By graduate earnings, Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College leads among Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $32,602, College Scorecard. Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte and Central Piedmont Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte is the largest, with 182 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Culinary Arts and Related Services program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College tops the list at $32,602. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Cooks, Restaurant earn in North Carolina?+
The average annual wage for Cooks, Restaurant in North Carolina is $35,140 (median $35,400), across about 50,150 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Culinary Arts and Related Services program?+
The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, monitoring, speaking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Cooks, Restaurant?+
The national job outlook is about +14.9% growth with around 250,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A No formal educational credential is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card