Best colleges for Public Relations in New York
Ranked by graduate earnings
Syracuse University, Pace University and Hofstra University are the top bachelor's Public Relations programs in New York by graduate earnings. Syracuse University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $54,934, College Scorecard. Syracuse University, Ithaca College and State University of New York at Oswego award the most Public Relations degrees in New York: 243, 88 and 62 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 30 New York colleges offer Public Relations and award 1,405 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Public Relations program, formally known as Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, focuses on managing and disseminating information to influence public perception. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Syracuse University Syracuse Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $54,934 | 243 | 84% | $28,851 | $26,000 |
| 2 | Pace University New York Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $44,485 | 58 | 60% | $29,994 | $25,000 |
| 3 | Hofstra University Hempstead Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $42,030 | 31 | 69% | $34,539 | $24,000 |
| 4 | Ithaca College Ithaca Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $39,446 | 88 | 76% | $28,970 | $23,250 |
| 5 | St. John's University - New York Queens Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $38,210 | 50 | 66% | $27,359 | $26,848 |
| 6 | State University of New York at Oswego Oswego Public · Bachelor's degree | $37,203 | 62 | 60% | — | $26,000 |
| 7 | Marymount Manhattan College New York Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $41,696 | 3 | 49% | $34,258 | $25,000 |
| 8 | State University of New York at Plattsburgh Plattsburgh Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $40,143 | 10 | 59% | — | $24,975 |
| 9 | Rochester Institute of Technology Rochester Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $36,664 | 10 | 70% | $28,133 | $27,000 |
| 10 | SUNY at Fredonia Fredonia Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $33,126 | 15 | 50% | — | $23,450 |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fashion Institute of Technology New York Public · Associate degree | $21,006 | 574 | 81% | — | $12,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Public Relations degrees in New York
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Syracuse University Syracuse Private not-for-profit | 243 | $54,934 |
| 2 | Ithaca College Ithaca Private not-for-profit | 88 | $39,446 |
| 3 | State University of New York at Oswego Oswego Public | 62 | $37,203 |
| 4 | Pace University New York Private not-for-profit | 58 | $44,485 |
| 5 | Siena University Loudonville Private not-for-profit | 55 | Not reported |
| 6 | St. John's University - New York Queens Private not-for-profit | 50 | $38,210 |
| 7 | Marist University Poughkeepsie Private not-for-profit | 34 | Not reported |
| 8 | Hofstra University Hempstead Private not-for-profit | 31 | $42,030 |
| 9 | St Bonaventure University Saint Bonaventure Private not-for-profit | 26 | Not reported |
| 10 | School of Visual Arts New York Private for-profit | 25 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 20 New York colleges offering Public Relations
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fashion Institute of Technology | New York | Public | 574 |
| Mercy University | Dobbs Ferry | Private not-for-profit | 20 |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | Buffalo | Public | 19 |
| SUNY at Fredonia | Fredonia | Public | 15 |
| Iona University | New Rochelle | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Canisius University | Buffalo | Private not-for-profit | 11 |
| Columbia University | New York | Private not-for-profit | 11 |
| Rochester Institute of Technology | Rochester | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| State University of New York at Plattsburgh | Plattsburgh | Public | 10 |
| Manhattan University | Riverdale | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
| CUNY Queens College | Queens | Public | 8 |
| Stony Brook University | Stony Brook | Public | 8 |
| Long Island University | Brookville | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| St. Francis College | Brooklyn | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| Marymount Manhattan College | New York | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| St. John Fisher University | Rochester | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Mohawk Valley Community College | Utica | Public | 2 |
| SUNY College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill | Cobleskill | Public | 2 |
| Utica University | Utica | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Mount Saint Mary College | Newburgh | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Public Relations Specialists (SOC 27-3031).
Top skills
What Public Relations Specialists earn in New York
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Public Relations programs in New York.
Which New York colleges award the most Public Relations degrees?+
Syracuse University (243 graduates a year), Ithaca College (88 graduates a year) and State University of New York at Oswego (62 graduates a year) award the most Public Relations degrees in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 30 New York colleges offer Public Relations.
What is the best college for Public Relations in New York?+
By graduate earnings, Syracuse University leads among bachelor's Public Relations programs in New York, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $54,934, College Scorecard. Pace University and Hofstra University follow. By degrees awarded, Syracuse University is the largest, with 243 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Public Relations program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Syracuse University tops the list at $54,934. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Public Relations Specialists earn in New York?+
The average annual wage for Public Relations Specialists in New York is $95,760 (median $81,250), across about 28,250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Public Relations program?+
The Public Relations program, formally known as Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication, focuses on managing and disseminating information to influence public perception. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Public Relations Specialists?+
The national job outlook is about +4.8% growth with around 27,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card