Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in New York
Ranked by graduate earnings
Syracuse University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Pratt Institute are the top bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in New York by graduate earnings. Syracuse University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,181, College Scorecard. The New School, Pratt Institute and School of Visual Arts award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in New York: 789, 333 and 288 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 60 New York colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 4,525 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Syracuse University Syracuse Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $46,181 | 124 | 84% | $28,851 | $27,000 |
| 2 | Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $36,191 | 46 | 84% | $28,900 | $25,000 |
| 3 | Pratt Institute Brooklyn Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $36,040 | 333 | 74% | $49,088 | $26,000 |
| 4 | Rochester Institute of Technology Rochester Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $34,709 | 176 | 70% | $28,133 | $27,000 |
| 5 | State University of New York at New Paltz New Paltz Public · Bachelor's degree | $34,677 | 31 | 72% | — | $22,879 |
| 6 | State University of New York at Oswego Oswego Public · Bachelor's degree | $32,546 | 22 | 60% | — | $26,530 |
| 7 | Marist University Poughkeepsie Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $28,336 | 49 | 80% | $33,867 | $26,929 |
| 8 | Farmingdale State College Farmingdale Public · Bachelor's degree | $27,827 | 50 | 53% | — | $18,875 |
| 9 | The New School New York Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $24,804 | 789 | 69% | $54,185 | $26,000 |
| 10 | SUNY at Fredonia Fredonia Public · Bachelor's degree | $19,451 | 38 | 50% | — | $26,500 |
Top 9 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mohawk Valley Community College Utica Public · Associate degree | $21,012 | 41 | 38% | — | $9,534 |
| 2 | Fashion Institute of Technology New York Public · Associate degree | $14,361 | 1,424 | 81% | — | $12,000 |
| 3 | Monroe Community College Rochester Public · Associate degree | $27,718 | 37 | 27% | — | $10,250 |
| 4 | Bryant & Stratton College - Syracuse North Liverpool Private not-for-profit · Associate degree Small program | $25,506 | 4 | 32% | $14,512 | $17,511 |
| 5 | Suffolk County Community College Selden Public · Associate degree | $24,907 | 42 | 29% | — | $9,132 |
| 6 | CUNY Kingsborough Community College Brooklyn Public · Associate degree | $19,146 | 86 | 28% | — | — |
| 7 | Nassau Community College Garden City Public · Associate degree | $18,107 | 34 | 23% | — | $10,600 |
| 8 | CUNY LaGuardia Community College Long Island City Public · Associate degree | $13,554 | 25 | 24% | — | — |
| 9 | CUNY Hostos Community College Bronx Public · Associate degree | $12,863 | 32 | 16% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in New York
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The New School New York Private not-for-profit | 789 | $24,804 |
| 2 | Pratt Institute Brooklyn Private not-for-profit | 333 | $36,040 |
| 3 | School of Visual Arts New York Private for-profit | 288 | $15,985 |
| 4 | Rochester Institute of Technology Rochester Private not-for-profit | 176 | $34,709 |
| 5 | New York School of Interior Design New York Private not-for-profit | 139 | Not reported |
| 6 | Syracuse University Syracuse Private not-for-profit | 124 | $46,181 |
| 7 | CUNY Queens College Queens Public | 81 | $19,349 |
| 8 | Miami Ad School - New York Astoria Private for-profit | 69 | Not reported |
| 9 | SUNY Adirondack Queensbury Public | 59 | Not reported |
| 10 | Farmingdale State College Farmingdale Public | 50 | $27,827 |
ShowHide the other 50 New York colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).
Top skills
What Graphic Designers earn in New York
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in New York.
Which New York colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+
The New School (789 graduates a year), Pratt Institute (333 graduates a year) and School of Visual Arts (288 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 60 New York colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.
What is the best college for Design and Applied Arts in New York?+
By graduate earnings, Syracuse University leads among bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in New York, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,181, College Scorecard. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Pratt Institute follow. By degrees awarded, The New School is the largest, with 789 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Design and Applied Arts program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Syracuse University tops the list at $46,181. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Graphic Designers earn in New York?+
The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in New York is $82,410 (median $77,340), across about 14,530 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+
The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+
The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card