Michigan · Physics

Best colleges for Physics in Michigan

Ranked by graduate earnings

Michigan State University, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor and Wayne State University award the most Physics degrees and certificates in Michigan: 109, 100 and 28 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 22 Michigan colleges offer Physics and award 320 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…

Institutions
22
offering CIP 40.08
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
320
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,400
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,746
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Physicists
$135,340
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Public · Bachelor's degree
$53,01910093%—$22,250
2Michigan State University
East Lansing Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,40010981%—$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Physics degrees in Michigan

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Michigan State University
East Lansing Public
109$33,400
2University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Public
100$53,019
3Wayne State University
Detroit Public
28Not reported
4Michigan Technological University
Houghton Public
21Not reported
5Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo Public
10Not reported
6Calvin University
Grand Rapids Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
7Oakland University
Rochester Hills Public
7Not reported
8Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant Public
6Not reported
9Northern Michigan University
Marquette Public
6Not reported
10Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public
4Not reported
Show the other 12 Michigan colleges offering Physics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Michigan-DearbornDearbornPublic4
Adrian CollegeAdrianPrivate not-for-profit3
Hillsdale CollegeHillsdalePrivate not-for-profit3
Kalamazoo CollegeKalamazooPrivate not-for-profit3
Saginaw Valley State UniversityUniversity CenterPublic2
Albion CollegeAlbionPrivate not-for-profit1
Alma CollegeAlmaPrivate not-for-profit1
Andrews UniversityBerrien SpringsPrivate not-for-profit1
Kettering UniversityFlintPrivate not-for-profit1
Gogebic Community CollegeIronwoodPublic1
Grand Valley State UniversityAllendalePublic1
Hope CollegeHollandPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Physicists (SOC 19-2012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.0%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$166,290
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

ScienceReading ComprehensionMathematicsCritical ThinkingSpeakingActive Listening

What Physicists earn in Michigan

Jobs in Michigan
510
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$135,340
median $94,520
Best-paying metro
$186,150
Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI

Related careers

Physicists
$135,340 avg · 510 jobs
Physics Teachers, Postsecondary
$115,750 avg · 460 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Physics programs in Michigan.

Which Michigan colleges award the most Physics degrees?+

Michigan State University (109 graduates a year), University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (100 graduates a year) and Wayne State University (28 graduates a year) award the most Physics degrees and certificates in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 22 Michigan colleges offer Physics.

Which Physics program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor tops the list at $53,019. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Physicists earn in Michigan?+

The average annual wage for Physicists in Michigan is $135,340 (median $94,520), across about 510 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Physics program?+

The Physics program focuses on the study of matter, energy, and the fundamental forces of nature. It encompasses various specializations, including Atomic/Molecular Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Optics/Optical Sciences, making it suitable…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop science, reading comprehension, mathematics, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Physicists?+

The national job outlook is about +4.0% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card