Maine · Computer Programming

Best colleges for Computer Programming in Maine

Ranked by graduates a year

Eastern Maine Community College and Husson University award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in Maine: 8 and 6 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Maine colleges offer Computer Programming and award 14 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 11.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
14
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$18,839
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer Programmers
$117,430
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Computer Programming in Maine

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Eastern Maine Community College
Bangor Public
—832%——
2Husson University
Bangor Private not-for-profit
—659%$18,839—

Colleges awarding the most Computer Programming degrees in Maine

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Eastern Maine Community College
Bangor Public
8Not reported
2Husson University
Bangor Private not-for-profit
6Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer Programmers (SOC 15-1251).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-6.0%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~5,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$98,670
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Computer Programmers earn in Maine

Jobs in Maine
450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$117,430
median $101,780
Best-paying metro
$138,860
Portland-South Portland, ME

Related careers

Software Developers
$129,040 avg · 2,790 jobs
Computer Network Support Specialists
$69,460 avg · 680 jobs
Computer Programmers
$117,430 avg · 450 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$85,510 avg · 390 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
— avg · 380 jobs
Web Developers
— avg · 170 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Programming programs in Maine.

Which Maine colleges award the most Computer Programming degrees?+

Eastern Maine Community College (8 graduates a year) and Husson University (6 graduates a year) award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in Maine, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Maine colleges offer Computer Programming.

How much do Computer Programmers earn in Maine?+

The average annual wage for Computer Programmers in Maine is $117,430 (median $101,780), across about 450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Programming program?+

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer Programmers?+

The national job outlook is about -6.0% growth with around 5,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card