Illinois · Computer Programming

Best colleges for Computer Programming in Illinois

Ranked by graduate earnings

DePaul University, University of Chicago and Moraine Valley Community College award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in Illinois: 379, 61 and 48 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 29 Illinois colleges offer Computer Programming and award 920 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

Institutions
29
offering CIP 11.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
920
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$72,234
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,087
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
42%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer Programmers
$87,660
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1DePaul University
Chicago Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$72,23437968%$28,141$25,497

Colleges awarding the most Computer Programming degrees in Illinois

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1DePaul University
Chicago Private not-for-profit
379$72,234
2University of Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit
61Not reported
3Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills Public
48Not reported
4Parkland College
Champaign Public
32Not reported
5Southwestern Illinois College
Belleville Public
26Not reported
6McHenry County College
Crystal Lake Public
16Not reported
7Illinois Central College
East Peoria Public
15Not reported
8Lake Land College
Mattoon Public
13Not reported
9Danville Area Community College
Danville Public
9Not reported
10Rock Valley College
Rockford Public
9Not reported
Show the other 19 Illinois colleges offering Computer Programming

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer Programmers (SOC 15-1251).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-6.0%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~5,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$98,670
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Computer Programmers earn in Illinois

Jobs in Illinois
1,280
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$87,660
median $72,540
Best-paying metro
$103,330
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN

Related careers

Software Developers
$136,540 avg · 56,310 jobs
Computer Network Support Specialists
$74,580 avg · 6,960 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$107,950 avg · 6,530 jobs
Web Developers
$95,460 avg · 4,310 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$98,960 avg · 2,050 jobs
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$103,710 avg · 1,540 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Programming programs in Illinois.

Which Illinois colleges award the most Computer Programming degrees?+

DePaul University (379 graduates a year), University of Chicago (61 graduates a year) and Moraine Valley Community College (48 graduates a year) award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 29 Illinois colleges offer Computer Programming.

Which Computer Programming program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, DePaul University tops the list at $72,234. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer Programmers earn in Illinois?+

The average annual wage for Computer Programmers in Illinois is $87,660 (median $72,540), across about 1,280 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Programming program?+

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer Programmers?+

The national job outlook is about -6.0% growth with around 5,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card