Iowa · Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Best colleges for Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management in Iowa

Ranked by graduate earnings

Des Moines Area Community College, Kirkwood Community College and Western Iowa Tech Community College are the top Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management programs in Iowa by graduate earnings. Des Moines Area Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $66,093, College Scorecard. Western Iowa Tech Community College, Des Moines Area Community College and Iowa Western Community College award the most Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management degrees and certificates in Iowa: 56, 55 and 50 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Iowa colleges offer Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management and award 289 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management program focuses on the integration of technology and management within organizations. It prepares students to support decision-making processes, coordinate operations, and…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 11.10
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
289
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,575
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,680
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
55%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Systems Managers
$154,640
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public · Associate degree
$66,0935539%—$17,694
2Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public · Associate degree
$41,5753143%—$17,500
3Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public · Certificate
$23,7455650%—$8,875

Colleges awarding the most Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public
56$23,745
2Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
55$66,093
3Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs Public
50Not reported
4Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
31$41,575
5Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public
29Not reported
6North Iowa Area Community College
Mason City Public
29Not reported
7Iowa State University
Ames Public
17Not reported
8Saint Ambrose University
Davenport Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
9Northwest Iowa Community College
Sheldon Public
4Not reported
10Emmaus Bible College
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
Show the other 2 Iowa colleges offering Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Hawkeye Community CollegeWaterlooPublic1
Mount Mercy UniversityCedar RapidsPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~55,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$171,200
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionMonitoringSpeakingWriting

What Computer and Information Systems Managers earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
3,920
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$154,640
median $143,780
Best-paying metro
$166,630
Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA

Related careers

Project Management Specialists
$106,580 avg · 6,720 jobs
Computer User Support Specialists
$60,620 avg · 6,140 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$154,640 avg · 3,920 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$109,440 avg · 3,850 jobs
Network and Computer Systems Administrators
$90,730 avg · 3,110 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management degrees?+

Western Iowa Tech Community College (56 graduates a year), Des Moines Area Community College (55 graduates a year) and Iowa Western Community College (50 graduates a year) award the most Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Iowa colleges offer Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.

What is the best college for Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management in Iowa?+

By graduate earnings, Des Moines Area Community College leads among Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management programs in Iowa, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $66,093, College Scorecard. Kirkwood Community College and Western Iowa Tech Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Western Iowa Tech Community College is the largest, with 56 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Des Moines Area Community College tops the list at $66,093. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Systems Managers earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Systems Managers in Iowa is $154,640 (median $143,780), across about 3,920 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management program?+

The Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management program focuses on the integration of technology and management within organizations. It prepares students to support decision-making processes, coordinate operations, and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Systems Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +15.2% growth with around 55,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management in other statesArkansasUtahNebraskaMassachusettsVermontRhode IslandMissouriArizona

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card