Iowa · Computer Software and Media Applications

Best colleges for Computer Software and Media Applications in Iowa

Ranked by graduates a year

Eastern Iowa Community College District, Northwest Iowa Community College and University of Dubuque award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees and certificates in Iowa: 33, 17 and 15 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Iowa colleges offer Computer Software and Media Applications and award 104 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Software and Media Applications program focuses on the design, development, and implementation of software systems and media applications. It is ideal for individuals interested in combining creativity with technical skills to…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 11.08
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
104
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,324
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
49%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Software Developers
$118,780
BLS OEWS May 2025

9 institutions offering Computer Software and Media Applications in Iowa

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public
—3345%——
2Northwest Iowa Community College
Sheldon Public
—1758%——
3University of Dubuque
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
—1540%$21,324—
4Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
—1139%——
5Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public
—743%——
6Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs Public
—640%——
7Southwestern Community College
Creston Public
—659%——
8Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
—543%——
9Iowa State University
Ames Public
—475%——

Colleges awarding the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees in Iowa

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public
33Not reported
2Northwest Iowa Community College
Sheldon Public
17Not reported
3University of Dubuque
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
4Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
11Not reported
5Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public
7Not reported
6Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs Public
6Not reported
7Southwestern Community College
Creston Public
6Not reported
8Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
5Not reported
9Iowa State University
Ames Public
4Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Software Developers (SOC 15-1252).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.8%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~115,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$133,080
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningActive ListeningWritingSpeaking

What Software Developers earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
9,040
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$118,780
median $114,890
Best-paying metro
$126,610
Ames, IA

Related careers

Software Developers
$118,780 avg · 9,040 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$154,640 avg · 3,920 jobs
Data Scientists
$98,100 avg · 2,300 jobs
Graphic Designers
$54,820 avg · 2,100 jobs
Career/Technical Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$68,130 avg · 1,170 jobs
Computer Programmers
$87,010 avg · 950 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Software and Media Applications programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees?+

Eastern Iowa Community College District (33 graduates a year), Northwest Iowa Community College (17 graduates a year) and University of Dubuque (15 graduates a year) award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Iowa colleges offer Computer Software and Media Applications.

How much do Software Developers earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Software Developers in Iowa is $118,780 (median $114,890), across about 9,040 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Software and Media Applications program?+

The Computer Software and Media Applications program focuses on the design, development, and implementation of software systems and media applications. It is ideal for individuals interested in combining creativity with technical skills to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Software Developers?+

The national job outlook is about +15.8% growth with around 115,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Computer Software and Media Applications in other statesMichiganColoradoIllinoisWisconsinMinnesotaVermontMissouriIdaho

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card