Best colleges for Culinary Arts and Related Services in Illinois
Ranked by graduate earnings
National Louis University, City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College and Lake Land College are the top Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in Illinois by graduate earnings. National Louis University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $24,786, College Scorecard. Lake Land College, National Louis University and City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Illinois: 227, 133 and 113 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 21 Illinois colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services and award 1,075 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…
Top 5 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | National Louis University Chicago Private not-for-profit · Associate degree | $24,786 | 133 | 30% | $18,904 | $17,500 |
| 2 | City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College Chicago Public · Associate degree | $19,447 | 113 | 31% | — | $9,687 |
| 3 | Lake Land College Mattoon Public · Certificate | $14,366 | 227 | 58% | — | $5,163 |
| 4 | Joliet Junior College Joliet Public · Associate degree | $28,252 | 90 | 21% | — | $16,375 |
| 5 | College of DuPage Glen Ellyn Public · Associate degree | $26,952 | 39 | 25% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees in Illinois
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lake Land College Mattoon Public | 227 | $14,366 |
| 2 | National Louis University Chicago Private not-for-profit | 133 | $24,786 |
| 3 | City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College Chicago Public | 113 | $19,447 |
| 4 | College of Lake County Grayslake Public | 107 | Not reported |
| 5 | Elgin Community College Elgin Public | 96 | Not reported |
| 6 | McHenry County College Crystal Lake Public | 58 | Not reported |
| 7 | Kaskaskia College Centralia Public | 52 | Not reported |
| 8 | Moraine Valley Community College Palos Hills Public | 28 | Not reported |
| 9 | Lincoln Land Community College Springfield Public | 24 | Not reported |
| 10 | Richland Community College Decatur Public | 23 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 11 Illinois colleges offering Culinary Arts and Related Services
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joliet Junior College | Joliet | Public | 90 |
| College of DuPage | Glen Ellyn | Public | 39 |
| Southwestern Illinois College | Belleville | Public | 20 |
| Triton College | River Grove | Public | 17 |
| Illinois Central College | East Peoria | Public | 13 |
| Rend Lake College | Ina | Public | 12 |
| Danville Area Community College | Danville | Public | 11 |
| William Rainey Harper College | Palatine | Public | 8 |
| Lewis University | Romeoville | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| City Colleges of Chicago-Malcolm X College | Chicago | Public | 1 |
| Kishwaukee College | Malta | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Cooks, Restaurant (SOC 35-2014).
Top skills
What Cooks, Restaurant earn in Illinois
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in Illinois.
Which Illinois colleges award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees?+
Lake Land College (227 graduates a year), National Louis University (133 graduates a year) and City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College (113 graduates a year) award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 21 Illinois colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services.
What is the best college for Culinary Arts and Related Services in Illinois?+
By graduate earnings, National Louis University leads among Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in Illinois, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $24,786, College Scorecard. City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College and Lake Land College follow. By degrees awarded, Lake Land College is the largest, with 227 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Culinary Arts and Related Services program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, National Louis University tops the list at $24,786. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Cooks, Restaurant earn in Illinois?+
The average annual wage for Cooks, Restaurant in Illinois is $39,520 (median $37,580), across about 53,540 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Culinary Arts and Related Services program?+
The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, monitoring, speaking, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Cooks, Restaurant?+
The national job outlook is about +14.9% growth with around 250,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A No formal educational credential is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card