Best colleges for Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians in Idaho
Ranked by graduate earnings
Brigham Young University - Idaho, College of Western Idaho and Idaho State University award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Idaho: 74, 17 and 9 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Idaho colleges offer Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians and award 119 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program equips students with the skills needed to create detailed design drawings and specifications for various engineering projects. This program is ideal for individuals…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | College of Western Idaho Nampa Public · Certificate Small program | $48,988 | 17 | 31% | — | $14,770 |
Colleges awarding the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees in Idaho
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brigham Young University - Idaho Rexburg Private not-for-profit | 74 | Not reported |
| 2 | College of Western Idaho Nampa Public | 17 | $48,988 |
| 3 | Idaho State University Pocatello Public | 9 | Not reported |
| 4 | Lewis-Clark State College Lewiston Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 5 | College of Southern Idaho Twin Falls Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 6 | North Idaho College Coeur d'Alene Public | 3 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Mechanical Drafters (SOC 17-3013).
Top skills
What Mechanical Drafters earn in Idaho
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians programs in Idaho.
Which Idaho colleges award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees?+
Brigham Young University - Idaho (74 graduates a year), College of Western Idaho (17 graduates a year) and Idaho State University (9 graduates a year) award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Idaho, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Idaho colleges offer Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.
How much do Mechanical Drafters earn in Idaho?+
The average annual wage for Mechanical Drafters in Idaho is $68,050 (median $59,050), across about 330 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program?+
The Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program equips students with the skills needed to create detailed design drawings and specifications for various engineering projects. This program is ideal for individuals…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, mathematics, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Mechanical Drafters?+
The national job outlook is about -6.5% growth with around 3,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card