Missouri · Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians in Missouri

Ranked by graduate earnings

State Technical College of Missouri, Ozarks Technical Community College and Metropolitan Community College - Kansas City award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Missouri: 38, 24 and 22 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Missouri colleges offer Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians and award 139 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program equips students with the skills needed to create detailed design drawings and specifications for various engineering projects. This program is ideal for individuals…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 15.13
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
139
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$49,789
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
41%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mechanical Drafters
$73,680
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1State Technical College of Missouri
Linn Public · Associate degree
$49,7893884%—$11,350
2University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$60,7741754%—$21,861

Colleges awarding the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees in Missouri

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1State Technical College of Missouri
Linn Public
38$49,789
2Ozarks Technical Community College
Springfield Public
24Not reported
3Metropolitan Community College - Kansas City
Kansas City Public
22Not reported
4University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public
17$60,774
5State Fair Community College
Sedalia Public
6Not reported
6Crowder College
Neosho Public
2Not reported
Show the other 3 Missouri colleges offering Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
St Charles Community CollegeCottlevillePublic20
Saint Louis Community CollegeBridgetonPublic6
Lincoln UniversityJefferson CityPublic4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mechanical Drafters (SOC 17-3013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-6.5%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~3,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$68,510
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive LearningActive ListeningMathematicsReading ComprehensionSpeaking

What Mechanical Drafters earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
870
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$73,680
median $66,350
Best-paying metro
$78,610
Kansas City, MO-KS

Related careers

Architectural and Civil Drafters
$66,460 avg · 2,270 jobs
Mechanical Drafters
$73,680 avg · 870 jobs
Electrical and Electronics Drafters
$81,100 avg · 420 jobs
Drafters, All Other
$61,680 avg · 400 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

State Technical College of Missouri (38 graduates a year), Ozarks Technical Community College (24 graduates a year) and Metropolitan Community College - Kansas City (22 graduates a year) award the most Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Missouri colleges offer Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.

Which Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program in Missouri has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, State Technical College of Missouri tops the list at $49,789. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Mechanical Drafters earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Mechanical Drafters in Missouri is $73,680 (median $66,350), across about 870 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians program equips students with the skills needed to create detailed design drawings and specifications for various engineering projects. This program is ideal for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, mathematics, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mechanical Drafters?+

The national job outlook is about -6.5% growth with around 3,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians in other statesIndianaUtahOregonKentuckyMichiganMinnesotaIdahoCalifornia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card