Colorado · Human Services

Best colleges for Human Services in Colorado

Ranked by graduate earnings

Metropolitan State University of Denver, University of Colorado Colorado Springs and University of Northern Colorado award the most Human Services degrees and certificates in Colorado: 39, 35 and 35 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Colorado colleges offer Human Services and award 166 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Services program, also known as Human Services, General, is an interdisciplinary field focused on meeting human needs through a comprehensive understanding of social and service technologies. It aims to improve the quality of…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 44.00
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
166
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,938
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social and Human Service Assistants
$50,370
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,9383932%—$29,913
2Colorado State University Global
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree Online
$43,33657——$44,111

Colleges awarding the most Human Services degrees in Colorado

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public
39$41,938
2University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Public
35Not reported
3University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public
35Not reported
Show the other 1 Colorado colleges offering Human Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Colorado State University Global (Online)DenverPublic57

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~50,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$45,120
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionMonitoringWritingCritical Thinking

What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Colorado

Jobs in Colorado
5,410
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$50,370
median $47,690
Best-paying metro
$54,290
Boulder, CO

Related careers

Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$59,980 avg · 6,540 jobs
Social and Human Service Assistants
$50,370 avg · 5,410 jobs
Social and Community Service Managers
$105,880 avg · 2,800 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Services programs in Colorado.

Which Colorado colleges award the most Human Services degrees?+

Metropolitan State University of Denver (39 graduates a year), University of Colorado Colorado Springs (35 graduates a year) and University of Northern Colorado (35 graduates a year) award the most Human Services degrees and certificates in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Colorado colleges offer Human Services.

Which Human Services program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Metropolitan State University of Denver tops the list at $41,938. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Colorado?+

The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Colorado is $50,370 (median $47,690), across about 5,410 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Services program?+

The Human Services program, also known as Human Services, General, is an interdisciplinary field focused on meeting human needs through a comprehensive understanding of social and service technologies. It aims to improve the quality of…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card