Best colleges for Social Work in Colorado
Ranked by graduate earnings
Metropolitan State University of Denver, Colorado Mesa University and Colorado State University Pueblo are the top bachelor's Social Work programs in Colorado by graduate earnings. Metropolitan State University of Denver leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,015, College Scorecard. University of Denver, Metropolitan State University of Denver and Colorado State University - Fort Collins award the most Social Work degrees in Colorado: 556, 293 and 175 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Colorado colleges offer Social Work and award 1,265 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Metropolitan State University of Denver Denver Public · Bachelor's degree | $44,015 | 293 | 32% | — | $29,578 |
| 2 | Colorado Mesa University Grand Junction Public · Bachelor's degree | $42,254 | 43 | 41% | — | $25,000 |
| 3 | Colorado State University Pueblo Pueblo Public · Bachelor's degree | $39,742 | 70 | 40% | — | $28,785 |
| 4 | Colorado State University - Fort Collins Fort Collins Public · Bachelor's degree | $38,134 | 175 | 67% | — | $23,387 |
Colleges awarding the most Social Work degrees in Colorado
Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Denver Denver Private not-for-profit | 556 | Not reported |
| 2 | Metropolitan State University of Denver Denver Public | 293 | $44,015 |
| 3 | Colorado State University - Fort Collins Fort Collins Public | 175 | $38,134 |
| 4 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs Colorado Springs Public | 126 | Not reported |
| 5 | Colorado State University Pueblo Pueblo Public | 70 | $39,742 |
| 6 | Colorado Mesa University Grand Junction Public | 43 | $42,254 |
| 7 | Pueblo Community College Pueblo Public | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Colorado colleges offering Social Work
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pikes Peak State College | Colorado Springs | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Healthcare Social Workers (SOC 21-1022).
Top skills
What Healthcare Social Workers earn in Colorado
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Social Work programs in Colorado.
Which Colorado colleges award the most Social Work degrees?+
University of Denver (556 graduates a year), Metropolitan State University of Denver (293 graduates a year) and Colorado State University - Fort Collins (175 graduates a year) award the most Social Work degrees in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Colorado colleges offer Social Work.
What is the best college for Social Work in Colorado?+
By graduate earnings, Metropolitan State University of Denver leads among bachelor's Social Work programs in Colorado, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,015, College Scorecard. Colorado Mesa University and Colorado State University Pueblo follow. By degrees awarded, University of Denver is the largest, with 556 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Social Work program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Metropolitan State University of Denver tops the list at $44,015. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Healthcare Social Workers earn in Colorado?+
The average annual wage for Healthcare Social Workers in Colorado is $67,170 (median $63,480), across about 3,670 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Social Work program?+
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Healthcare Social Workers?+
The national job outlook is about +7.7% growth with around 18,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card