Best colleges for Human Services in Massachusetts
Ranked by graduate earnings
Northeastern University, Simmons University and Springfield Technical Community College award the most Human Services degrees in Massachusetts: 25, 15 and 10 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 Massachusetts colleges offer Human Services and award 389 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Human Services program, also known as Human Services, General, is an interdisciplinary field focused on meeting human needs through a comprehensive understanding of social and service technologies. It aims to improve the quality of…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northeastern University Boston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $45,799 | 25 | 91% | $18,925 | $26,000 |
| 2 | Fitchburg State University Fitchburg Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $45,641 | 8 | 55% | — | $26,352 |
| 3 | Cambridge College Boston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $44,287 | 18 | 11% | — | $32,524 |
| 4 | Fisher College Boston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $35,289 | 15 | 28% | $26,273 | $29,935 |
Top 2 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Quinsigamond Community College Worcester Public · Associate degree | $36,101 | 71 | 22% | — | $17,305 |
| 2 | Mount Wachusett Community College Gardner Public · Associate degree | $22,370 | 47 | 24% | — | $8,312 |
Colleges awarding the most Human Services degrees in Massachusetts
Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northeastern University Boston Private not-for-profit | 25 | $45,799 |
| 2 | Simmons University Boston Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 3 | Springfield Technical Community College Springfield Public | 10 | Not reported |
| 4 | Fitchburg State University Fitchburg Public | 8 | $45,641 |
| 5 | Anna Maria College Paxton Private not-for-profit | 7 | Not reported |
| 6 | Lesley University Cambridge Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 7 | Greenfield Community College Greenfield Public | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 11 Massachusetts colleges offering Human Services
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Holyoke Community College | Holyoke | Public | 98 |
| Quinsigamond Community College | Worcester | Public | 71 |
| Mount Wachusett Community College | Gardner | Public | 47 |
| Cambridge College | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 18 |
| Bunker Hill Community College | Boston | Public | 16 |
| Fisher College | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 15 |
| Massasoit Community College | Brockton | Public | 13 |
| Urban College of Boston (Online) | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Cape Cod Community College | West Barnstable | Public | 11 |
| Massachusetts Bay Community College | Wellesley Hills | Public | 11 |
| Quincy College | Quincy | Public | 8 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).
Top skills
What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Massachusetts
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Human Services programs in Massachusetts.
Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Human Services degrees?+
Northeastern University (25 graduates a year), Simmons University (15 graduates a year) and Springfield Technical Community College (10 graduates a year) award the most Human Services degrees in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 Massachusetts colleges offer Human Services.
Which Human Services program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Northeastern University tops the list at $45,799. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Massachusetts?+
The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Massachusetts is $50,430 (median $47,130), across about 9,180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Human Services program?+
The Human Services program, also known as Human Services, General, is an interdisciplinary field focused on meeting human needs through a comprehensive understanding of social and service technologies. It aims to improve the quality of…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card