California · Bible/Biblical Studies

Best colleges for Bible/Biblical Studies in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

William Jessup University, Biola University and Azusa Pacific University award the most Bible/Biblical Studies degrees and certificates in California: 34, 30 and 24 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 California colleges offer Bible/Biblical Studies and award 191 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Bible/Biblical Studies program focuses on the academic exploration of the Bible through various disciplines, including history, theology, and literary criticism. This program is designed for students interested in deepening their…

Institutions
18
offering CIP 39.02
States offered
43
with a program page
Degrees / yr
191
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$26,407
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,043
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Directors, Religious Activities and Education
$70,150
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Biola University
La Mirada Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$37,5183068%$26,727$27,000
2SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
El Dorado Hills Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online Small program
$26,407485%$21,043$29,299

Colleges awarding the most Bible/Biblical Studies degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1William Jessup University
Rocklin Private not-for-profit
34Not reported
2Biola University
La Mirada Private not-for-profit
30$37,518
3Azusa Pacific University
Azusa Private not-for-profit
24Not reported
4The Master's University and Seminary
Santa Clarita Private not-for-profit
18Not reported
5Southern California Seminary
El Cajon Private not-for-profit
16Not reported
6California Baptist University
Riverside Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
7Life Pacific University
San Dimas Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
8Latin American Bible Institute
La Puente Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
9Shasta Bible College and Graduate School
Redding Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
10Fresno Pacific University
Fresno Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
Show the other 8 California colleges offering Bible/Biblical Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Epic Bible College & Graduate SchoolSacramentoPrivate not-for-profit7
Westminster Theological Seminary in California (Graduate only)EscondidoPrivate not-for-profit7
World Mission University (Online)Los AngelesPrivate not-for-profit7
Bethesda UniversityAnaheimPrivate not-for-profit4
SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary (Online)El Dorado HillsPrivate not-for-profit4
Simpson UniversityReddingPrivate not-for-profit2
Vanguard University of Southern CaliforniaCosta MesaPrivate not-for-profit2
California Prestige UniversitySanta Fe SpringsPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Directors, Religious Activities and Education (SOC 21-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$54,840
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningActive LearningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingLearning Strategies

What Directors, Religious Activities and Education earn in California

Jobs in California
3,200
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$70,150
median $61,570
Best-paying metro
$89,920
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA

Related careers

Directors, Religious Activities and Education
$70,150 avg · 3,200 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$125,540 avg · 1,850 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Bible/Biblical Studies programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Bible/Biblical Studies degrees?+

William Jessup University (34 graduates a year), Biola University (30 graduates a year) and Azusa Pacific University (24 graduates a year) award the most Bible/Biblical Studies degrees and certificates in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 California colleges offer Bible/Biblical Studies.

Which Bible/Biblical Studies program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Biola University tops the list at $37,518. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Directors, Religious Activities and Education earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Directors, Religious Activities and Education in California is $70,150 (median $61,570), across about 3,200 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Bible/Biblical Studies program?+

The Bible/Biblical Studies program focuses on the academic exploration of the Bible through various disciplines, including history, theology, and literary criticism. This program is designed for students interested in deepening their…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, active learning, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Directors, Religious Activities and Education?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 13,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card